Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Desktop: Dell Dimension 8300 running WinXP SP3, Ethernet connection to router.

Laptop: Samsung R780 running Win7, wireless connection to router.

Router: Belkin N Wireless Modem Router, Model F5D8636-4V1.

Both computers can access the Internet via the router. The Dell can see the Samsung. On the Samsung Windows Explorer and the Networking Center can't see the Dell, but Belarc Advisor lists it. The workgroup names are identical on both computers and I think I've got both set up to share their discs (but I'm a noob to this game so I'm not sure).

Can anyone suggest anything to check, or links to advice or tutorials on this subject written so someone without deep tech knowledge can understand it?

Here's a list of what I've done and some evidence. Apologies for the long post.

Samsung > Connection properties > enabled WINS/NetBIOS Over TCP/IP for IP V4
    Dell > Drive properties > enabled file/folder sharing for D: and E:
    Dell > Enabled printer sharing
    Dell > Control Panel > System > Computer Name > Change > changed workgroup name to BONZO
    Dell > Sygate Personal Firewall > Options > Network Neighbourhood > enabled "Allow others to share my files and printers"
    Dell > Connection properties > enabled WIN/NetBIOS over TCP/IP
    Dell > services.msc > Messenger > changed to Auto and started
    Dell > Shut down Sygate Personal Firewall
    Samsung > Set workgroup name to BONZO
    Samsung > Connection properties > enabled WINS/NetBIOS Over TCP/IP for IP V4
    Samsung and Dell > checked the following services are started and auto (some are not present on each computer; and some were not previously auto). This was based on advice inhttp://www.techsupportforum.com/networking-forum/networking-support/517177-solved-unable-ping-file-share-between-networked-computers.html
    COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    Computer Browser
    DHCP Client
    DNS Client
    Network Connections