Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    I hope this is where my problem should be posted . . .

    I have W7 Home Premium, with 2 hard-drives.
    Disk 0 has 3 partitions: swap,data, backups
    Disk 1 is my C:\ drive containing my system and programs.

    When I go to do a Microsoft system image, it wants to include the Swap partition, and thus 2 disks.
    I want to have the image taken only of Disk 1, so I went so far as to only have my swap file on the C:\ drive.
    Somehow, though, that swap partition on Disk 0 has been marked as a system partition and bootable.

    I want to delete the swap partition, so that my image can be taken of only Disk 1, but I'm afraid that I'll make
    my system unbootable.

    Can someone help me with this problem?
    Thanks,
    Dick

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Dick, it looks to me you have your hdd's mixed up, disk 0 should be your first drive unless you have changed the BIOS.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks for your response Roderunner. I did a Google search, downloaded EasyBCD.
    After installation I was able to use it to fix my bootloader, which was pointing to S:\
    as my boot drive. It now points to C:\ and all is well.

    Dick

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick-Y View Post
    Thanks for your response Roderunner. I did a Google search, downloaded EasyBCD.
    After installation I was able to use it to fix my bootloader, which was pointing to S:\
    as my boot drive. It now points to C:\ and all is well.
    Dick
    Dick, how is yours set up? this is mine.

    [attachment=90883:d.JPG]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Roderunner:
    Here's mine after the EasyBCD fix was applied (before the fix, Swap was also marked as "boot"):[attachment=90889:Noname.jpg]

    Regards,
    Dick


    edited typo
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Dick, it still looks wrong to me, but if its working OK (as far as your aware) just leave as it is. There is another test you can do, check your 'start-up' time. This one is from my laptop, which being wireless is slower than my desktop PC. To find it, right click computer>manage then left click event viewer>application logs>applications and service logs>microsoft>windows>diagnostics-performance>operational.

    [attachment=90890:d.JPG]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Roderunner:
    Thanks. That was helpful. Mine came in at 91498 MS.
    Dick

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Your welcome Dick, did you notice events from 100 are for starting & from 200 for shutdown.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Yes. Thanks,
    Dick

    Happy Holidays

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •