Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just had to buy a new laptop and got an HP Envy. Win 7 professional 64 bit NTFS file system.

    Problem is that the F keys are not working as I want. On my last laptop I could press F11 to access full screen view but on the envy, pressing F11 mutes the sound and I have to press fn+F11 to access full screen view.

    Does anyone know how to make the F keys work "properly" ie like they did on my last laptop.

    I really need to be able to use my F11 key without pressing fn. My old laptop was non widescreen so I often need to use full screen view to see more of the screen like I am used to seeing on my old laptop.

    I have tried pressing fn+num lock and fn+shift +numlock. I have also tried pressing certain keys for 5 seconds as these are the fixes I found online but none of them work

    Please please please can anyone help this is driving me crazy.

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Dave I had this same problem on my HP Pavillion dv7-4050ea. The F keys are treated as function keys and you need to press fn to make them work, the functions like volume, brightness, etc just require a single press which is a pain when you use your computer for working rather than watching dvds.

    I solved it by disabling the fn key in the BIOS not sure if it will be the same on your HP but defo worth a look.

    1. Press the power button to turn your computer on
    2. Press F10 key to enter BIOS setup screen
    3. Use the left right arrow keys to navigate to “System Configuration”
    4. Use the up down arrow keys to navigate to the “action keys Mode”
    5. Press “Enter” to open the Enabled / Disabled menu
    6. Use up down arrow keys to select “Disable”
    7. Press the F10 key
    8. Use arrow keys to select “Yes”
    9. Press “Enter” to save changes and start windows

    Now the F1 through F12 keys should all work as they should with just a single press without the fn key.

    As for the widescreen display I hate them. I tried to get a non widescreen laptop all over but no one sells them anyomore, not even IBM. I had to buy a 17” widescreen to get a decent size screen wereas a 15" screen used to be ideal for me. IMO widescreen is actually a big con because when you buy a 15” widescreen it is only as wide as an old 15” non widescreen but it’s not as tall. They should call them less tall screens lol.

    Anyway I hope this works for you.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Simon For This Useful Post:

    bodmas (2014-10-30)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeee haaa

    It worked exactly as you said, thanks Simon and I agree that widescreen is a con.

    Its ok if you want to watch tv on the laptop but why would I want to do that when I have a 60 inch tv at home.

    Its ridiculous that I am lugging a 17 inch laptop around and half the time I am working on word documents with two blank areas of screen to each side of the document.

    Its a real shame the manufacturers dont give the choice of non widescreen for those who still do want it.

    You would think IBM would offer non widescreen versions since they are meant for business use.

    I asked around and it turns out its all down to cheepness, widescreen laptops have less screen area so thats why they dont make the non widescreen any more.

    Its clever marketing calling them widescreen when they are as you say less tall.

  5. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Iowa, USA
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks so much for the help !!

    On my Dell Inspiron N5010/15R, press F2 at power up, then Advanced-Function Key behavior - Function Key and Function Keys again work normally.

    Thanks so much again !!

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I just registered to this forum the first time to thank the questioner and replyer for this post, i find it very useful coz i had the same problem and i search in google and find this page.
    Thanks again

  7. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,496
    Thanks
    212
    Thanked 852 Times in 784 Posts
    Waseem,

    Allow me to welcome you to the Lounge on behalf of all here as a new poster. I think you'll find the solution to most of your computer problems in the expertise that comprises this board. Again Welcome!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  8. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you very much RetiredGeek, from now and then, i'll come to this forum to find and ask about my problems and in any times..
    thank you so much for welcome

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    A great alternative method If you cant access your BIOS or have a different problem is a program called AutoHotkey which can be downloaded at http://www.autohotkey.com/ . AutoHotkey is a great program that uses very little background processes and it's FREE!


    Step 1: Download and install Autohotkey

    Step 2: Run AutoHotkey then right-click your desktop and click "New" then click "AutoHotkey Script"

    Step 3: Right-click the file you just created on your desktop and click "Edit Script"

    Step 4: Start a new line beneath the line that says "SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir% ; Ensures a consistent starting directory." It should look like this http://i.imgur.com/hPzpTkr.png

    Step 5: On my PC if I want to turn up the volume I have to press fn+f12 but if I just wanted to press f12 to turn up the volume I would type f12::Volume_Up on the first empty line. It should look like this http://i.imgur.com/gzQczHZ.png

    Step 6: To do this for the volume down key and mute key you need to start a new line for each new key shortcut. It should look like this http://i.imgur.com/hizJxKU.png

    Step 7: To run the script you just created you simply double-click it. You can put this script anywhere, I placed mine in a scripts folder I created in my documents.

    Step 8: To make the script you just created run when you log in you will need to place it in your Startup folder. To do this on Windows 8 open run and type "%AppData%" (without the quotes) and click "ok". It should look like this http://i.imgur.com/hJbTUTv.png Then click the "Microsoft" folder, then click the "Windows" folder, then click the "start Menu" folder, then click the "Programs", then click the "Startup" folder. Once your in the "Startup" folder it should look like this http://i.imgur.com/XCscihU.png

    Step 9: Make sure you saved your script in a folder where you want it (I would recommend not leaving it on your desktop before creating a shortcut). Now right-click the script and select "Create Shortcut". Then place the shortcut it creates into your "Startup" folder. Once your done with that it should look like this http://i.imgur.com/XCscihU.png

    You can use this same method to make other unused keys do things liek play/pause media, play next track, ect... Here's a list of other commands http://www.autohotkey.com/docs/KeyList.htm
    Use this formula for play/pause, next track, ect.. (key you want to trigger action):Action) = f12::Volume_Up

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •