Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bristol, CT, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have been using the Windows Backup program for a long time with no issues. This morning the backup won't complete with an error code: 0x8100037. There is an exploit that pops up that is Java/CVE-2008-5353.KE which when attempting to remove it comes back as succeeded but says not found and the backup won't complete. I had removed Java some time ago with no issues other than not being able to run Secunia for updates. I tried installing the latest version of Java to see if that solved the backup issue but it doesn't. Can somebody help me solve this problem?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Dale, Welcome to the Lounge.

    I'm sorry to say that I do not trust the Windows Backup and Restore. it just is too basic for my likes. I do not know what your problem might be, so my advice is to check out the numerous threads in the Security and Backups forum for other 3rd party alternatives.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    If you have malware, you need to remove it, regardless of the backup. I am not sure I understood whether you have removed it successfully or not.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bristol, CT, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I run the removal program and it says that it succeeded, but also says the item not found. Everytime I try to rerun the backup the malware is still there.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    I think you need to try some other malware removing app. What are you using now?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You will need to rid your system of this prior to attempting any imaged backup.

    Try another tool like Malwarebytes Antimalware. Download it from another computer
    and install it from a USB thumb drive. Run the program from safemode. Perform the "full" scan, not the "quick" scan.

    Malwarebytes Forum
    If this is unsuccessfull make a post to the Malwarebytes Forum.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Try cleaning out the folders at "C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\LocalLow\Sun". Uninstalling Java does not remove old folders.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bristol, CT, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everyone for your help. JoeP's answer was the right one. I deleted all Java folders but the latest version and was able to run my backup to completion. Good to know it wasn't a Trojan after all.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If you go to Control Panel/Java, this opens the Java Console. In the General tab, open Temporary Internet Files/Settings and uncheck Keep temporary files on my computer. This should prevent this from reoccuring.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •