Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I have a Dell Studio XPS 8100 with a dell ST2400 monitor connected with a HDMI Cable. I cannot get sound even though windows reports all devices working properly and they seem to be "playing" the sounds but I get NO sound. I tried enabling the HDMI connection on the Monitor menu, device manager, audio properties, every sound setting in Windows 7 that I could think of. Everything says it is working yet it is not. What am I missing here? I am far from a newbie here been working IT for 20 years now, but I confess that this has me stumped altogether. Any help at all will be greatly appreciated. Oh, 8GB ram, 1.5TB hdd. external hdd of 500GB. MS Life cam and not much else.

Thanks
    I am not familiar with the Dell ST2400. Are the speakers built into the monitor?
    How are the speakers connected to the computer?
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Gold Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by joela44 View Post
    Everything says it is working yet it is not. What am I missing here? stumped altogether. Any help at all will be greatly appreciated.
    joela44,
    Hello... Right click on desktop and select (in my case) NVIDIA control panel... Select "Change Windows Sound Settings" Right click on your desired "HDMI" monitor, and set as default ( each time you want to use it )..OK out. You will have to switch back when finished to make your "Speakers Work" (on PC ) back to default. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)