Lounger
    Thanks
    I have been using computers for many years and have come across my share of frustrating errors and glitches that were eventually solved. Now that I have just switched to Windows 7 Professional 64 bit, there is a brand new annoyance to deal with: "There is no email program associated to perform the requested action. Please install an email program or, if one is already installed, create an association in the Default Programs control panel." This message box pops up at random times. I use (for years) Mozilla Thunderbird as my email client and set all associations to recognize it as the default.
    There is one thread that I can find on this forum which has a similar question except that it is based on using a webmail client so it did not provide any help. Googleing got lots of hits but very little useful information.
    Does anyone know how to prevent this annoying message from popping up? Is there a registry hack or some obscure setting that I can use? As I have mentioned, this is only an annoyance but I like to work on a clean, well behaved system with as few unexplained problems as possible.

Thanks,
    Ken Gash

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    In Control Panel -> Default Programs choose Associate a File Type or Protocol to a Program. Near the end of the List, what do you have for the MailTo protocol? If it is not set for Thunderbird, click the Change Program button and choose Thunderbird.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Rui Ribeiro View Post
    In Control Panel -> Default Programs choose Associate a File Type or Protocol to a Program. Near the end of the List, what do you have for the MailTo protocol? If it is not set for Thunderbird, click the Change Program button and choose Thunderbird.
    Thank you for your response. I have already done this and the message continues to appear.

Thanks