Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    I run Windows 7 on a Dell desktop (4600). I recently added a Cisco/Linksys router to my system.
    I primarily did so for security purposes; and my desktop is the only system going through the router.

    Because my daughters were coming home for Christmas I thought it would be nice to give them wireless
    access to my system, so I enabled guest access on the router with a guest-id for logon and a password
    to access the internet through my machine.

    They cant log on, even though each of their laptops has been able to access other wireless sites (i.e., hotels etc.)

    The only account on my desktop is mine, with administrative priveleges.
    What else do I have to do on my side of the network or within Windows to allow them wireless access?

    You can tell I'm a networking novice; so I appreciate any help you can give me.
    Thank you,
    Dick

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastover, NC, USA
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    What level of security do you have on the router? If WPA2, check to make sure the laptops will support that level. If you are using WPA2 on the router your might try using WPA instead and see if that will work.

    JB

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    If your setup is like this, Internet <--> cable/dsl modem <--> router <--> your PC, you don't need to configure guest access on your router. You need to setup the wireless configuration on the router to use the highest wireless security that your daughters PCs will support. Try using WPA2 (the highest) and go down from there if you need to. Also, setup a pre-shared key that is sufficiently complex it will be difficult to guess. Unless you absolutely have to you don't need nor want your daughters PCs accessing your PC for anything.

    NOTE: you can use guest access if you care to but should still configure the highest possible security on the router.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    What happens when they try to access the router? Is the broadcast SSID feature enabled and can they see it?

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Dick, if possible, set up your router with mixed WPA-PSK + WPA2-PSK then access can almost be guaranteed, ( router will use best security automatically ) When your daughters visit connect each laptop 1 at a time wired. Access your router's 'Access Control' and disable it, add the LT's to trusted list, ( MAC controled ) one at a time then reactivate access control. Click apply or OK
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Sorry guys and gals. I'm so "network challenged" that I dont know what SSID's nor LT's are.
    When I set up my Lynksys E2000, I basically followed the default set-up menu.
    I also allowed up to 3 guest wireless logon's.

    I guess I need "set up for dummies."
    Dick

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick-Y View Post
    Sorry guys and gals. I'm so "network challenged" that I dont know what SSID's nor LT's are.
    When I set up my Lynksys E2000, I basically followed the default set-up menu.
    I also allowed up to 3 guest wireless logon's.

    I guess I need "set up for dummies."
    Dick
    Dick,

    Not to worry that's why the lounge is here.

    SSID: {Non technical definition} the name your Router broadcasts so other's know it's your router. This usually defaults to the manufacturer's name, e.g. my Jefa Tech router/repeater shows: jefatech-repeater 2 as it's SSID. So you should probablly see Lynksys or some variation there of. If you hover your mouse pointer on the wireless icon in the notification area of your Win-7 machine it will show you the SSID you're hooked up to and if you have internet access or not. You can change the SSID by entering your router firmware per instructions in your user manual.

    LT: From the previous posts in this thread I think they are refering to Laptops.

    If you look in your manual you should find the instructions on entering the router's firmware, usually by entering HTTP://192.168.1.1 or similiar address into your browser (Internet Explorer or FireFox, etc) then answering the logon screen with UserID and Password {these are printed in your manual also}. You should change the default password since everyone, especially black hat hackers, know what these are for all brands/models of routers.

    As other questions arise post away.

    I hope this helps get you started.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thank you all for bearing with me. After googling, reading, going to the Linksys/Cisco site I did
    the following (in non-networking-knowledgable terms):
    From my "Cisco Connect" control panel I created an EasyKey installer on a thumb-drive.
    I installed that software from a USB port on each of their laptops, connecting their laptops to
    my router.
    Each of them was able to hover over their network icon on their task bar, find my network, and
    logon to the internet, through my router.

    RetiredGeek:
    Thank you especially for reminding me that the Lounge is here so that folks like you, Roderunner, JoeP,
    and everybody else can share and help each other out.

    Blessings, and a Happy New Year to all,
    Dick

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    You're welcome...always glad to help like all the other loungers here! It's such a great place!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,205
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Now that you have it running it is worth checking to see what settings are in use. Login to the router via your browser and check the wireless set up. Hopefully it is using WPA2.

    cheers, Paul

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    PT:
    It says it's "WPA2/WPA mixed mode."
    Cheers,
    Dick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •