Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger Steve1209's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi All,

    I'm having a problem with WMP12 on the new Windows 7 system I just bought and wonder if anyone has a fix for the problem, The problem is every WAV file I try to play opens WMP12 in a very small window. I drag the window to a good size for me but the next WAV file it plays is small all over again. This is a PITA, is there a way to keep the WMP 12 window size set to what I drag it to be after closing it, previous versions of WMP on XP did this just fine, now Microsoft has taken a step back unless there is a solution anyone has!

    Thanks for any help,

    Steve

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Yes, that appears to be cmomon with WMP 12 on Windows 7. I have not been able to get it to remember windows sizes.
    Try this: right click on the WMP icon, choose properties, "Run Maximized".
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    This is a,Quote;Hi,

    Based on my test on our test machine, I would like to propose you with a workaround.

    Right click an opened video and click video==>check"Fit player to video"==>check 200%.

    If 200% still doesn't fit the player to the full screen neither, we can manually change the VideoZoom value to 300 or above in the registry, please refer to the following steps:

    1) click Start button.
    2) Type: regedit and press Enter.
    3) Find the following iterm:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\MediaPlayer\P references

    4) Right click VideoZoom and click modify.
    5) Set the value to 300 or above.
    6) Now launch Windows Media Player to see if it works.

    Best Regards
    Dale
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Start at 300 and work your way down. 300 will yeild a near full screen result.
    Thanks chowur
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Steve, When you open WMP, drag it to the size you want then close it while holding Ctrl key.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    Star Lounger Steve1209's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks chowur that worked, Roderunner your suggestion did not work for me, I tried it first because it sounded simplest.

    Steve

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger Vincenzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    On my Win 7 computer, holding down Shift while closing makes WMP remember the window size.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    Holding down the Shift key while closing I.E. 9 also remembers the window size
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •