Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Note: The bold is the bottom line, the rest describes my situation.

    My mom has this old (2003) Dell XPS 400 desktop computer that comes with a stock 80GB SATA (3.5" presumably) hard drive. I happen to own an old portable hard drive (120GB). The portable hard drive started having some issues with it's connection so I took it apart and attached it to a new SATA to USB adapter (it uses an external power supply for the hard drives power and the USB is used for the actual data transfer) and found that the drive itself is perfectly fine. So, since I no longer use this 120 I thought maybe (since I'm reformatting the Dell anyway) I'd add the 120 as a second drive (internal). What I need to know is how. What should I do to mount it and do I need to do anything special (adapters or anything) to attach it to the desktop. The desktop obviously enough won't be moved around a lot so I wouldn't mind a makeshift mount so long as I can connect and use it.

    My plan for the drive once installed is to use it for DATA storage, primarily Music and some Video. This way I can use the faster 80GB hard drive for the OS and games/office/whatever other apps we (my family) decides to throw on the thing.

    In case anyone's wondering I'm installing Windows XP Professional, 32-bit to it and the original OS is Windows XP Media Center Edition, 32-bit. The computer has (I think) 3GB of ram now (might be 2.5) and a Pentium D processor (ancient I know). The old computer has been offline for quite a while and we're trying to get internet again so I want to get rid of any existing viruses/ghost (it was a testbed computer for me and thus has a lot of obsolete data). I also figure that since my XP install disc has SP3 built in it should work a bit better overall (my general experience is that you get better results if the Service Pack is built in than if it's added later).
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    It is unlikely that the motherboard has SATA connectors. That is the first thing to check. If perchance it does have a SATA connector you're going to need a driver because XP even with SP3 does not have SATA drivers.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    One of my Dell 9150's is similar to the 400.
    Dell™ XPS™ 400 Specifications

    There are four(4) 7-pin SATA connectors. I have three(3) internal HD's. None of the HD's are 2.5 inch. You will need a SATA cable. A spare power connector is probably already available inside. You can place the 120 in the spare HD bay or if your 2.5" has a screw hole on the side, you can secure it to one of the empty 3.5" floppy bays.

    Do you have all of the software CD's and license keys? If not, consider a cloning process.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Let the spirit of McGyver nerd flow through you and out your fingers...or just clobber it together like I do with twisties and zip strips and call it a day!

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Sullivan View Post
    One of my Dell 9150's is similar to the 400.
    Dell™ XPS™ 400 Specifications

    There are four(4) 7-pin SATA connectors. I have three(3) internal HD's. None of the HD's are 2.5 inch. You will need a SATA cable. A spare power connector is probably already available inside. You can place the 120 in the spare HD bay or if your 2.5" has a screw hole on the side, you can secure it to one of the empty 3.5" floppy bays.

    Do you have all of the software CD's and license keys? If not, consider a cloning process.
    I should have all the CD's and keys I need and I'm reformatting because the drive has a lot of extra junk on it that is best dealt with by a fresh install. Cloning would of course copy all the extra junk as well, also I'm adding the 120 as a second drive and reusing the existing 80 for the OS and programs.

    By the way the other guy mentioned drivers, would I need to add anything to my XP install disc to get the existing 80GB SATA drive to work? I'm not using the same disc that came with the Dell but, rather a regular disc I got from MSDNAA.
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gregory Norris View Post
    I should have all the CD's and keys I need and I'm reformatting because the drive has a lot of extra junk on it that is best dealt with by a fresh install. Cloning would of course copy all the extra junk as well, also I'm adding the 120 as a second drive and reusing the existing 80 for the OS and programs.

    By the way the other guy mentioned drivers, would I need to add anything to my XP install disc to get the existing 80GB SATA drive to work? I'm not using the same disc that came with the Dell but, rather a regular disc I got from MSDNAA.
    You may want to take a look at .....
    Drivers & Downloads for XPS/Dimension 400/9150

    That page shows all Drivers/Downloads.

    You can also enter your Service Tag to get updates for your system.

    Be sure to read the driver installation instructions.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Sullivan View Post
    You may want to take a look at .....
    Drivers & Downloads for XPS/Dimension 400/9150

    That page shows all Drivers/Downloads.

    You can also enter your Service Tag to get updates for your system.

    Be sure to read the driver installation instructions.
    I've already found and gotten drivers from there but, I need to know if XP has the drivers needed to install. If the hard drive can't be used by the base set of XP drivers then XP can't be installed without slipstreaming the appropriate drivers for the hard drive.
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    XP does NOT have SATA drivers. You need to add them.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    XP does NOT have SATA drivers. You need to add them.

    Joe
    Thanks, do you know of a good guide or anything for actually doing this. Though I know the concept of Slipstreaming I've never actually done it myself.
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Here is one guide:

    http://www.digitgeek.com/how-to-slip...rs-into-xp-cd/

    Seems pretty simple to follow and you can find a few more detailed ones if you need to.

    This one has a bit more detail:

    http://www.wikihow.com/Slipstream-Yo...nstallation-Cd
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    If you have the drivers on a CD or USB flash drive, you can add them during the XP install process. Can't remember the dialog but you need to press a function key and then specify the location.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    If you have the drivers on a CD or USB flash drive, you can add them during the XP install process. Can't remember the dialog but you need to press a function key and then specify the location.

    Joe
    I'd rather slipstream it since USB may or may not work during boot and I don't have a Floppy which is more guaranteed to work.

    Rui Ribeiro thanks for the guide, looks good.
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    227
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by grnorris View Post
    I'd rather slipstream it since USB may or may not work during boot and I don't have a Floppy which is more guaranteed to work.

    Rui Ribeiro thanks for the guide, looks good.
    Can't see an edit button now so adding a reply instead.

    I've got my SlipStreamed CD ready and it looks good but, due to an unfinished room causing a cramped space I haven't been able to take a look inside the Dell to find out for sure what cables are in there or add the drive for that matter. Thanks for all the help though, if I need more help later on this I'll reopen this thread otherwise I'll update the OP once I've got things up and running.
    Current Machine:HP Compaq 6910p with 4GB RAM, Core2Duo @ 2.20 GHz, Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family, Avast free, Malwarebyte's free, TP-Link wireless card (as the built in card has nothing but problems with empty solutions): The card identifies as "Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter". [Not the best machine but it does internet, docs, and vids, and some games (PvZ, Spore)]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •