Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Fantasy or Fact

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Fantasy or Fact

    I have a D-Link N router which works very well with my computers.... one desktop and two laptops. the fantasy part is that when I use my I-5 laptop for web browsing or mail reading, via the router, it eats up my alloted DL/UL in short order. I use this machine the farthest away from the central router point.

    The other laptop is closer and doesn't gobble up excessive amounts of bandwidth. I am with a satellite company which limits my daily allowance.

    Is this a figment of my imagination, or could that laptop be drawing down more bandwidth?

    BJ

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,381
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    Under normal circumstances the distance to the router should not affect your bandwidth. First, I'd run a thorough A/V scan. Then I'd run something such as Malwarebytes Free version. Then, check all the running programs and processes using Task Manager. If there are programs or processes that look unusual or that you can't identify post a list here and someone whill jump in.

    Joe

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks for responding. Had just run Malwarebytes this morning... the new updated version, in fact. Norton Internet Security does not find anything. I'll check the Task Manager tomorrow when I am on that machine.

    BJ

  5. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,517
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 220 Times in 208 Posts
    Do you have a bit torrent client or other sharing program on that machine?

    cheers, Paul

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Nope. It is a basically configured Win7 HP off the shelf at Office Depot. All I have added are things like MS Office, genealogy program, quilt program etc. Nothing exotic.
    While it doesn't seem to have anything to do with it, I mis-spoke about it being a I-5; wrong, my Lenovo is the I-5. The HP is I-3.
    BJ

  7. #6
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 207 Times in 181 Posts
    I wonder whether a badly configured HP updater (or other HP autostarting software) could be partly to blame for this.

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Good thought, but I have removed all the HP bloatware and my msconfig shows nothing out of the ordinary in startup.

    I did use that computer earlier this morning and watched the task manager carefully. Nothing untoward there.

    I suspect that I don't really watch the usage meter as closely on my desktop as I do on the lap top.

    BJ

  9. #8
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Could be a whole load of things phoning home: maybe even Windows Updates.

    I would use a network monitor or firewall to track it down. Try Zone Alarm

    It will tell you what services and programs are trying to access the internet and ask you to approve. You can selectively change those approvals to see what effect it has on your network usage and track down the offending application.

  10. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,517
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 220 Times in 208 Posts
    ZA doesn't do a good job of tracking use any more - pity!

    cheers, Paul

  11. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,624
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    Try a clean boot to see if the problem still occurs. (Ignore the fixit popup). If you don't get exceesive bandpass in the cleanboot environment, follow the diagnostic procedure given on that page.

    Jerry

  12. #11
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tinto Tech View Post
    I would use a network monitor or firewall to track it down. .
    I have installed NetWorx and am watching that for a while.

    BJ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •