Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    150
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Making sure MSE is always updating

    Came across this yesterday. Thought some of you might want to make this change. Even if you don't use a laptop but you shut down your desktop. From GroovyPost.

    http://www.groovypost.com/howto/how-...ovyPost.com%29

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I perform this task manually mainly because I'm not up running 24/7. Even if I was running 24/7 I would set time aside to perform
    manual updates. MSE can also be updated through Windows Update as well.
    MSE if I'm not mistaken can also have it's own update schedule modified to a degree.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2011-02-16 at 21:34.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Clint, hello.

    Did you notice that the new Lounge is using your member user's name and not your real name in messages ? I am being "titled" as Handcuff36 when I am Jean Parrot ???

    I sent a small notice of this last evening to the Power that be.
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2011-01-18 at 10:12. Reason: Last line added !

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Yeah.
    Give it a little time for things to get organized and issues to get sorted out.
    At the moment I can't see away to change it. The site admins and designers will eventually
    come up with something.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Jean and Clint,
    There seem to be several glitches. I have trouble uploading images without using advanced rather than quick reply. I also miss our pics in posts. Jean, have you been handcuffed often? 36 times, oh my!!!

    I also miss being able to supply names for links rather than simply pasting the URL for the link.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tedshemyers View Post
    I also miss being able to supply names for links rather than simply pasting the URL for the link.
    You can supply a name with a link using BBcode. See BBcode List and examples.

    Joe

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I was also able to do something similar by typing the info I want to link first, then highlighting this info and adding the link.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    150
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    I perform this task manually mainly because I'm not up running 24/7. Even if I was running 24/7 I would set time aside to perform
    manual updates. MSE can also be updated through Windows Update as well.
    MSEm if I'm not mistaken can also have it's own update schedule modified to a degree.
    If I read it correctly this "fix" is meant for the computer that does not stay up running 24/7. As originally installed MSE will pick a time to update. If at that time the computer is turned off then that update will not be downloaded at any other time later. As far as setting up another time I believe its the same situation. If you snooze you loose. Anyway, I think the auto update is the better way to go. If my routine is upset then I tend to forget to do certain things.This way at least I know I'm getting the latest definitions. I recently changed from Avira Anti-Virus because of good review of MSE from Windows Secrets. I'm still evaluating!

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts

    Wink Fighter !

    Hello Ted. On the 2011-01-19 05:27, you wrote:
    have you been handcuffed often? 36 times, oh my!!!

    Not really, this was my callsign as an F-86 fighter pilot.

    Sorry for being late, I just saw it. Jean.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I built flight control and weapons control computers for many naval and airforce jets for US forces, F14, F15, F18, etc. Worked on the first flight computers for the F18 Hornet. Never got to fly in one though, I'm jealous.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •