Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cannot run or re-install Win 7 BSOD everytime

    My Lenovo PC crashed yesterday after having run perfectly with Win professional 32 bit for the last 12 months. Now I cannot start Windows I get a BSOD with the following stop error:

    Stop: 0x0000005c (000000010b, 0000000001,0000000000, 0000000000)

    At first I thought it was the recent update from Microsoft that caused the problem so I used my Acronis boot CD and backup to install a full system image from the previous week. Same error message on re-booting.

    Tried to boot into the recovery mode from both the hard disk and the installation DVD - Same error message on re-booting.

    Tried running a UBUNTU "live" CD - no problem. Formatted the hard drive to remove all traces of Win 7 and installed UBUNTU - no problem. Ran MEMTEST no problem.

    Tried the Win 7 DVD to reinstall Win 7 - same error message!

    Why will my PC run Linux and not Win 7? Has some part of the hardware failed which is not used by Linux but is crucial for Windows?

    David

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,176
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    It's possible that it is, indeed a hardware issue, since that error means the Windows Hardware Abstraction Layer could not be initialized: http://pcsupport.about.com/od/findby...x1_0x5f.09.htm

    Hard to suggest anything. Microsoft suggest that you contact the hardware manufacturer or Microsoft itself: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...(v=vs.85).aspx

  4. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,391
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 486 Times in 447 Posts
    Memtest86 should be run at least overnight.
    A thorough checkdisk with the "r" switch enabled should be run on the entire hard drive from a boot CD.
    Any new hardware added recently?
    Have you made any BIOS changes or flashes recenty? If so return them to default.
    Have you used your UBUNTU "live" CD to scan for MBR and boot sector viruses?

    How To Troubleshoot Windows STOP Errors

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Memtest86 was run for 12hrs. Checkdisk showed no errors. No new hardware added or BIOS changes made. I installed UBUNTU to the hard disk, having formatted it first so as to remove any possibility of boot sector or MBR viruses. UBUNTU runs perfectly with no problems and recognises my dual monitor setup, USB drives etc. I cannot run a Windows rescue or setup disc without the error message appearing as soon as the files have loaded.

    The PC is due for replacement so I am not too worried about it but I would like to know why I can run Linux but not Windows!

    David

  6. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA)
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What happens if you boot to Ubuntu and then partition your hard drive and create an NTFS partition? With this new NTFS partition can you use an Acronis imaage to restore Windows to the new partition? You may need to reinstall Ubuntu in order to get Grub to recognize and allow booting to the new Windows partition.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,363
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 235 Times in 188 Posts
    Have you tried completing "killing" the laptop? Laptops have a small battery that serves the same purpose as the "coin" type battery in a desktop, maintaining power on the motherboard when the main power source is turned off (or the main battery removed and battery charger unplugged in the case of a laptop). On my Dell D800 it is in a small compartment inside the main battery compartment.

    Windows stores some very basic ACPI information on the system board to facilitate Windows taking over the BIOS functions (power management, etc.) as the OS boots. If that small store has become corrupted, that may be the cause of the Hardware Abstraction Layer being unable to initialize, and would likely show up as a hardware error code.

    I would give that a try before giving up entirely.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    CLiNT (2011-01-26)

  9. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had a similar issue once, it turned out to be the hard drive. Sometimes when one component goes bad it can affect certain operating systems differently, I'd recommend checking your drive with HDD Regenerator and maybe run diagnostics on other individual components as well.

    __________________
    Bumbly Jim
    Calgary Web Design

  10. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for all the suggestions as to the cause of my problem. I have tried them all and followed all the links but to no avail. There does appear to be an obscure motherboard problem. I have now given up and ordered a new PC! It wasn't cost effective to replace the motherboard etc as the new replacement will be much faster and speed and RAM is of the essence as it will used for video editing. I will continue to use the original PC as a Linux box untill it dies completely.

    Thanks again

    David

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •