Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Installing Foxit Reader without the extras

    While attempting to install the latest version of Foxit Reader, I read that to continue with the installation I had to install Foxit Search Bar. This was listed under Custon, so to get the reader I also had to get the search bar which I do not want.

    Is there any way around this or can I remove the search bar later?

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    When I installed Foxit Reader, I was able to uncheck the Search Bar option. Are you saying that it not longer gives you the option to not install the search bar? I just now ran through the install again - looks like you have to click the "Decline" button and then the search bar is not installed.
    Last edited by cafed00d; 2011-01-22 at 17:28. Reason: add new info

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    This is one of the reasons I switched to PDF X-Change Viewer.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    It is NOT required to install the search bar. Just unckeck the two boxes and then click on "Decline". Unless you read the text you'd never click on "decline" at that point.

    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Clitheroe, Lancs, UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If you do install it accidentally, like I did, it's easy enough to uninstall it through tools, add ons, extensions (if I remember correctly) on your browser, this is what I did after sending a complaining email to foxit sales first.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I had Foxit some time ago but I found it was not compatible with some sites.

    I use the USPS to print out postage labels and USPS only works with Adobe... When I treid to use it with Foxit it didn't print..

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    I ran into a site not too long ago that would not even let me access a PDF until Adobe reader was installed.

    Joe

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Well, I know Adobe is kinda bloated but I really don't see much sense in using anything else.
    It does the job and it's kinda the standard and I never had any problems with it...

    The issues with Foxit have been known for years and they never fix the bugs but like any free stuff you have no reason to complain when their are alternatives that are also free and work much better.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger HeyJude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    When filing IL state tax forms online, I have found Foxit with TOOLBAR to be exceptional in that the site specifically states it will ONLY work with Adobe, however, I've had no issues filling in forms with the typewriter tools etc. I especially like how Foxit highlights in yellow all blocks that need filled. Personally, I've had good success thus far. What other sites are known to be Adobe specific?
    Take a sad song and make it better

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Well, I can only speak for the issues I had..
    If others are happy with it then they should use what they feel comfortable with..

  11. #11
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    I prefer to use Nitro PDF ( info and download ). It is faster and smaller than Adobe. It does not install junkware like Foxit. And you can edit and print PDF files better with Nitro. There is a Firefox plug-in from Nitro which will just open PDF files within the Firefox browser. And Nitro is free, complete with editing capabilities. The same company makes Primo PDF for doing PDF printouts.
    -- Bob Primak --

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    I use Foxit Reader because it's so much smaller and loads faster.
    Having said that, I too have learned to read every word on the screen during the install process and I avoid installing the Extras that I don't want. But.....Foxit Reader is not exclusive to adding junk that I don't want.
    I won't mention names, but almost every program I try to install lately, has an option to install something I don't want, so, I've just gotten used to reading every word on every screen during the install process, with a keen eye, unchecking everything that wants to install.

    Good Luck and Happy Computing!

    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HeyJude View Post
    When filing IL state tax forms online, I have found Foxit with TOOLBAR to be exceptional in that the site specifically states it will ONLY work with Adobe, however, I've had no issues filling in forms with the typewriter tools etc. I especially like how Foxit highlights in yellow all blocks that need filled. Personally, I've had good success thus far. What other sites are known to be Adobe specific?
    I do volunteer tax preparation and the online tax software we use will only print the return with Adobe. Also the forms only display properly in Internet Explorer. Not really a problem because the computers we use are set up that way.

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ensay, Victoria, Aust
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by bobprimak View Post
    I prefer to use Nitro PDF ( info and download ). It is faster and smaller than Adobe. It does not install junkware like Foxit. And you can edit and print PDF files better with Nitro. There is a Firefox plug-in from Nitro which will just open PDF files within the Firefox browser. And Nitro is free, complete with editing capabilities. The same company makes Primo PDF for doing PDF printouts.
    I to use Nitro, actually thought it was so good paid for the Professional version, also use there Free convert Web-Page to PDF plug-in.

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I use PDF-Xchange viewer as a stand alone pdf viewer and with the browser add on. For most forms it will allow pdf's to open in IE. For those that do not like this I also have Adobe Reader X installed, but pdf xchange viewer is my default.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •