Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts

    Reply to post error continues to be a problem

    I have reported this problem shortly after the "New" Lounge debuted.

    When ever I wish to reply to a post using Post Quick Reply I get the following error message (note: I am already signed into my account when attempting this reply)

    Reply Error.png

    This morning I have replied to 4 posts and EACH time I have had to refresh and re-sign to my account. This is becoming very irritating.

    This does not seem to happen if I remember to go to the advanced reply.
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-01-24 at 06:37.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    No problem for me using FF 3.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    No problem with IE9 beta either. Sounds like you got on sombodies bad side Ted. :>)

    Jerry

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Hmmm, I always Go Advanced so I can preview my post...

    Maybe this won't help, but I suggest flushing all cookies for windowssecrets.com (all subdomains) and deleting any automatic login for the old lounge.windowssecrets.com domain or windowssecrets.com.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Thanks for the thoughts:

    Paul, Do not like FF, gave it up a while ago. Do not envision going back to it.

    jwitalka, I do use both IE 9 beta and Chrome 10 beta. I am not sure if this problem follows both IE 9 Beta 32 Bit and 64 Bit or just 64 Bit. Will have to investigate this.

    Jefferson, I do flush all cookies and temp internet files with each browser shutdown and manually 2 or 3 times per week using CCleaner and Privacy Mantra. I do not log on through the old Lounge but instead have set the new Lounge log on as my default Lounge Favorite.

    I am presently using Advanced, but will try both 32 Bit and 64 Bit IE 9 beta and Chrome 10 beta with Post Quick reply to see if this happena all the time or with just a particular browser.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Now it seems that 64 Bit and 32 bit IE 9 beta Post Quick Reply works. I still have to try Chrome 10 beta. This is a change from this morning.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    It also seems Chrome 10 beta Post Quick Reply is working. Perhaps my multiple problems this morning were just a fluke. Perhaps an administrator or inet person could chime in and let us know if this was a fluke or a resolved problem.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    This seems to be an intermittent problem because this morning once again my Post Quick Reply is once again acting very flaky. Perhaps I have to do as Jeff does and always use advanced. Oh well, who knows.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 2 Posts
    Ted, I spoke with one of our developers, it sounds like your session is timing out. When you log in, is the "remember me" checkbox checked? If not, try that and see if it helps.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by andyfboyd View Post
    Ted, I spoke with one of our developers, it sounds like your session is timing out. When you log in, is the "remember me" checkbox checked? If not, try that and see if it helps.
    I will try that and see if it helps. Thanks.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by andyfboyd View Post
    Ted, I spoke with one of our developers, it sounds like your session is timing out. When you log in, is the "remember me" checkbox checked? If not, try that and see if it helps.
    This seems to have fixed the problem. I never had to do this with the old Lounge, but this is a new day so I will have to get used to it.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    I place a check in the 'Remember me' check box each time I sign in and I have had the same error message on at least four occasions since the change to vBulletin.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Slightly of topic but it was mentioned...is there a way to force Advanced reply? I looked for a setting but couldn't find one. Never use quick reply so it's a pain to have to switch.

    Thanks.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Slightly of topic but it was mentioned...is there a way to force Advanced reply? I looked for a setting but couldn't find one. Never use quick reply so it's a pain to have to switch.

    Thanks.
    This would actually solve the problems that Gerald and I have been having. Since putting the check mark in Remember Me (This seems very strange because I do not leave the site or shut down my browser, why the need to check Remember Me) I have not seen the problem, but I never saw the problem in Advanced Mode. I have to believe this is a problem with the site.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tedshemyers View Post
    (This seems very strange because I do not leave the site or shut down my browser, why the need to check Remember Me)
    "Remember Me" sets a persistent cookie to prevent your session from timing out.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •