Star Lounger
    Thanks

Certificate domain-name mismatch: what to do?

I am using Win XP with Opera 10.63 as my main browser.

I recently tried to pay for an item on a car parts site and got the warning in the attached jpg file. I have gotten warnings at other times also. I may have clicked on the link to check out with PayPal and gotten this notice vs just going to the car site. I ended up using a credit card and successfully purchased the item. I may also have switched to another browser to complete the purchase.........don't remember.

I searched the lounge and did not find any answers to this problem - one post came close.

QUESTION >>>>>

WHAT does one do when faced with this problem ? Trust but verify ?
    That assumes you know what you are looking at.........I am only an experienced newbie who has seen this a few times. I searched my favorite computing magazine and found NO articles with answers to this problem.

Thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    There is no answer to that other than the one the dialog suggests. If you trust the site, go ahead and pay, if not, don't.
    My belief is that, even if this is an honest mistake, a company that wants to be trusted wouldn't do that. I would not complete the purchase. At the very least, would use Paypal, as they have some buyer protection in place and your credit card number is protected (making sure that you are really using Paypal!). I don't say this to scare you, but I would keep close tabs on the credit card movements. Paying through credit card, in a site where that happens, is surely inviting trouble. Maybe nothing will happen, but you let your guard down and things happen.

Just MHO.

Thanks
    Maybe their payment processor is sloppy? No one likes to trust a sloppy company with their payment card information.