Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Can't access Computer Management via right click

    When I right click the Computer Icon and select Management I get an error window to the effect that "Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item."

    The bar at top of this error message window has Explorer.EXE on the left. There is an OK button.

    I am logged on as an administrator.
    I can get to the Management functions via the control panel.

    I don't know how long I've had this condition as this isn't a function I use very often. I only noticed it because I wanted to view the Event logs because Task Manager wouldn't start. Thats another problem.

    I've done some Google searches but haven't come across a solution.

    Can someone help?
    Last edited by High Sierra; 2011-01-26 at 13:09. Reason: typos

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Not a way of accessing computer management that I would have previously considered.

    See if you can access computer management from the start menu's "Administrative tools".
    If you don't see it, you can add it to the start menu by "customizing" the start menu.

    eventvwr.msc
    devmgmt.msc
    diskmgmt.msc
    services.msc

    The above can easily be accessed through the run box.

    Windows 7 - Take Ownership Shortcut
    Take ownership may or may not help in this instance.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    I can access it from the start menu all programs administrative tools as you suggested. It's just from the Computer Icon on the desktop or the Computer selection on the start menu. (right click and select Managa).

    The run commands also work. I think somehow this is a permissions issue for the Computer shortcut.

    I tried that "Take ownership" reg hack. It doesn't seem to apply to the context menu for "Computer".
    Last edited by High Sierra; 2011-01-26 at 14:00.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    The take ownership reg file may help in this instance;
    Install the regfile, boot, then right click on the "My Computer Icon" and select "Take Ownership", then choose
    the "Manage" as you have previously done.

    Let us know if it works for you.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    As mentioned I tried the Take ownership reg patch. I did re-boot. However the Take Ownership context selection doesn't show on the context menu for Computer. It does show for other items such as folder and files.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by High Sierra View Post
    As mentioned I tried the Take ownership reg patch. I did re-boot. However the Take Ownership context selection doesn't show on the context menu for Computer. It does show for other items such as folder and files.
    High Sierra,
    Hello.... you can do all that you wish with this free "tweaking program" http://unlockforus.blogspot.com/2007...tures-gap.html I use this on Vista and "7" 32 \ 64. I have not upgraded and run v-1.76, it's worth a try . If you can still download it start with 1.76 ...if it works ...go no further. It has all the "tweaks" you are looking for. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  7. #7
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    I would suggest that you remove and then replace the Computer icon, with a reboot in between.

    Right-click an empty space on your desktop, and select "Personalize".

    Near the bottom left of the screen that appears, select "Display".

    In the next screen that appears, near the bottom left select "Personalize".

    In the next screen, near the top left, select "Change desktop icons".

    In the next screen, near the top left, uncheck the box by "Computer".

    OK all the way back out, do a complete shut down, wait a minute or so, and then restart.

    Go back through the above and this time check the box by "Computer".
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbearren View Post
    I would suggest that you remove and then replace the Computer icon, with a reboot in between.

    Right-click an empty space on your desktop, and select "Personalize".

    Near the bottom left of the screen that appears, select "Display".

    In the next screen that appears, near the bottom left select "Personalize".

    In the next screen, near the top left, select "Change desktop icons".

    In the next screen, near the top left, uncheck the box by "Computer".

    OK all the way back out, do a complete shut down, wait a minute or so, and then restart.

    Go back through the above and this time check the box by "Computer".
    Tried that but it didn't help. BTW you can remove and add the Computer Icon to the desktop another way. Click start, right click computer, and click on "Show on Desktop". I followed your instructions to the letter in this case though. Also in case4 you missed it in my OP, I get the error if I select Manage from the desktop icon or on Start, Computer, right click.

    I think there is some registry entry borked somewhere so even with the tweaker suggested by Fred, I wouldn't know what to tweak.

    Thanks for trying.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    @ Just Plain Fred - I downloaded Winbubbles. Used it to do a system file check. It indicated that some files were fixed but didn't fix my problem.
    Last edited by High Sierra; 2011-01-27 at 09:56.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Here is the actual error message.

    Erroronly.jpg

  11. #11
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Have you tried running sfc /scannow?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    I did do that using winbubbles yesterday. I ran it again today, here are the results.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>sfc /scannow

    Beginning system scan. This process will take some time.

    Beginning verification phase of system scan.
    Verification 100% complete.
    Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of th
    em.
    Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example
    C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log

    C:\Windows\system32>


    Here are the log entries.

    2011-01-28 10:10:45, Info CSI 000005e2 [SR] Repairing 2 components
    2011-01-28 10:10:45, Info CSI 000005e3 [SR] Beginning Verify and Repair transaction
    2011-01-28 10:10:45, Info CSI 000005e4 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft-windows-t..minalservicesclient_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.1 6385_none_a9d13f3c3ac896a5\mstsc.exe do not match actual file [l:18{9}]"mstsc.exe" :
    Found: {l:32 b:T2jpyJkzYDd1samD12tBAfBS49piO6Vorc2VpN1nL5Q=} Expected: {l:32 b:2SV4hQwk2IJiEGEiGRs44rN5E8hvN4MNzPoluAMxELc=}
    2011-01-28 10:10:45, Info CSI 000005e5 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:18{9}]"mstsc.exe" of Microsoft-Windows-TerminalServices-TerminalServicesClient, Version = 6.1.7600.16385, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_AMD64 (9), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
    2011-01-28 10:10:45, Info CSI 000005e6 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-naturallanguage6_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_n one_9db12a5d8c0f6a9e\NlsData004a.dll do not match actual file [l:30{15}]"NlsData004a.dll" :
    Found: {l:32 b:47DEQpj8HBSa+/TImW+5JCeuQeRkm5NMpJWZG3hSuFU=} Expected: {l:32 b:nC0GWOYY0X1qDykuG3wnrGmTLBWu/P6ImOfZNnSdouc=}
    2011-01-28 10:10:45, Info CSI 000005e7 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:30{15}]"NlsData004a.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-NaturalLanguage6, Version = 6.1.7600.16385, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
    2011-01-28 10:10:47, Info CSI 000005e8 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft-windows-t..minalservicesclient_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.1 6385_none_a9d13f3c3ac896a5\mstsc.exe do not match actual file [l:18{9}]"mstsc.exe" :
    Found: {l:32 b:T2jpyJkzYDd1samD12tBAfBS49piO6Vorc2VpN1nL5Q=} Expected: {l:32 b:2SV4hQwk2IJiEGEiGRs44rN5E8hvN4MNzPoluAMxELc=}
    2011-01-28 10:10:47, Info CSI 000005e9 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:18{9}]"mstsc.exe" of Microsoft-Windows-TerminalServices-TerminalServicesClient, Version = 6.1.7600.16385, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_AMD64 (9), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
    2011-01-28 10:10:47, Info CSI 000005ea [SR] This component was referenced by [l:202{101}]"Microsoft-Windows-Foundation-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~~6.1.7600.16385.Win dowsFoundationDelivery"
    2011-01-28 10:10:47, Info CSI 000005eb Hashes for file member \??\C:\Windows\System32\mstsc.exe do not match actual file [l:18{9}]"mstsc.exe" :
    Found: {l:32 b:T2jpyJkzYDd1samD12tBAfBS49piO6Vorc2VpN1nL5Q=} Expected: {l:32 b:2SV4hQwk2IJiEGEiGRs44rN5E8hvN4MNzPoluAMxELc=}
    2011-01-28 10:10:47, Info CSI 000005ec Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft-windows-t..minalservicesclient_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.1 6385_none_a9d13f3c3ac896a5\mstsc.exe do not match actual file [l:18{9}]"mstsc.exe" :
    Found: {l:32 b:T2jpyJkzYDd1samD12tBAfBS49piO6Vorc2VpN1nL5Q=} Expected: {l:32 b:2SV4hQwk2IJiEGEiGRs44rN5E8hvN4MNzPoluAMxELc=}
    2011-01-28 10:10:47, Info CSI 000005ed [SR] Could not reproject corrupted file [ml:520{260},l:46{23}]"\??\C:\Windows\System32"\[l:18{9}]"mstsc.exe"; source file in store is also corrupted
    2011-01-28 10:10:48, Info CSI 000005ee Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-naturallanguage6_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_n one_9db12a5d8c0f6a9e\NlsData004a.dll do not match actual file [l:30{15}]"NlsData004a.dll" :
    Found: {l:32 b:47DEQpj8HBSa+/TImW+5JCeuQeRkm5NMpJWZG3hSuFU=} Expected: {l:32 b:nC0GWOYY0X1qDykuG3wnrGmTLBWu/P6ImOfZNnSdouc=}
    2011-01-28 10:10:48, Info CSI 000005ef [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:30{15}]"NlsData004a.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-NaturalLanguage6, Version = 6.1.7600.16385, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
    2011-01-28 10:10:48, Info CSI 000005f0 [SR] This component was referenced by [l:202{101}]"Microsoft-Windows-Foundation-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~~6.1.7600.16385.Win dowsFoundationDelivery"
    2011-01-28 10:10:50, Info CSI 000005f1 Hashes for file member \??\C:\Windows\SysWOW64\NlsData004a.dll do not match actual file [l:30{15}]"NlsData004a.dll" :
    Found: {l:32 b:47DEQpj8HBSa+/TImW+5JCeuQeRkm5NMpJWZG3hSuFU=} Expected: {l:32 b:nC0GWOYY0X1qDykuG3wnrGmTLBWu/P6ImOfZNnSdouc=}
    2011-01-28 10:10:50, Info CSI 000005f2 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-naturallanguage6_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_n one_9db12a5d8c0f6a9e\NlsData004a.dll do not match actual file [l:30{15}]"NlsData004a.dll" :
    Found: {l:32 b:47DEQpj8HBSa+/TImW+5JCeuQeRkm5NMpJWZG3hSuFU=} Expected: {l:32 b:nC0GWOYY0X1qDykuG3wnrGmTLBWu/P6ImOfZNnSdouc=}
    2011-01-28 10:10:50, Info CSI 000005f3 [SR] Could not reproject corrupted file [ml:48{24},l:46{23}]"\??\C:\Windows\SysWOW64"\[l:30{15}]"NlsData004a.dll"; source file in store is also corrupted
    2011-01-28 10:10:52, Info CSI 000005f4 Repair results created:
    POQ 239 starts:

    POQ 239 ends.
    2011-01-28 10:10:52, Info CSI 000005f5 [SR] Repair complete
    2011-01-28 10:10:52, Info CSI 000005f6 [SR] Committing transaction

    I don't kbow if these have anything to do with my problem but I will be looking to replace these files to see if it fixes my problem.

    Later.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts

    Repair/reinstall

    You can try an in-place repair/reinstall.

    While in Windows, insert the Windows 7 DVD and choose setup. The setup routine will find your existing installation and offer to repair it. That would probably be your best bet, since sfc found problems that it could not repair. I don't consider that to be a good sign.

    The repair/reinstall will leave your programs, data and settings in place, and just fix the Windows installation. It would be advisable to do a drive image beforehand, though.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by High Sierra View Post
    Here is the actual error message.
    High Sierra,
    Hello... you need to configure "Winbubbles" to the settings that you need.Winbubbles has nothing to do with running "sfc /scannow" You can "Take ownership of a folder\file" (right click) After you configure it so. regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-01-29 at 17:22.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    OK, I did a repair install (actually with Windows 7 it says upgrade).

    That has fixed the issue with the Manage function of Computer.

    Still having an issue with Task Manager.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •