Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    This isn't a specific IE question, but I'm hoping someone can help. I use Encyclopedia Britannica 99 CD, which, because it is largely HTML based, operates, essentially, as an Internet Explorer plugin. The encyclopedia contains numerous QuickTime movies. However, from within the program, the movies won't play when selected. All I get, instead of a movie, is a square 'placeholder' with the circle-square-triangle icon in the upper left corner. Tech support at Britannica had me re-install QuickTime, thinking the plugins might have been incorrectly installed. That did not fix the problem...the QT plugins are in the IE plugins folder and the movies still don't work. Could this be an IE problem? It doesn't seem to matter whether or not I have 'Play Movies' and 'Play Animations' selected under Options, Advanced. Sorry if this is an inappropriate post, but I was just hoping someone might have some insight. Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    Does QuickTime work otherwise - i.e. if you visit a site that requires it?
    Might be worth checking your (Tools | Internet Options) Security settings as I recall plug-ins are selectable (Disable, enable, prompt etc.)

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    That's a great suggestion. I'll give it a try. I believe the answer to your question is yes, but I'll have to check. In case this means anything, QuickTime will work if I double-click on the movie file itself, so that leads me to believe it's a plugin problem.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    Hi
    I seem to remember my Britannica 99 used Netscape, and wouldn't change. icbw.

    Rgds

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    Under Security, the only plugins option is the use of ActiveX plugins, which is Enabled. I think even Britannica Tech Support has run out of answers. I'm still not sure if the QuickTime plugin is working from within IE...I'll see if I can find a site with QuickTime content.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    Quick time test page <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.nefec.org/fcat/quick_time_test.html>here</A>.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    I just read at PCWorld's Bug Alert that Apple just released a revised QuickTime plugin to address problems with the old one not working with IE 5.5 SR2. Maybe that'll take care of the problem.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    I give up. Installed the latest QuickTime 5.02 and still no videos in Britannica.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    Did the test page I gave above work OK?

    How do you start Britannica? I was wondering if you started from IE, or from a shortcut to Britannica?
    I don't know why, but something makes me think that if you are starting from the CD it may call up IE in a specific way.
    Try starting up Britannica, add the start page to your favorites, close it all down, then start from IE.
    (Apologies if this is a time waster <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> )

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    Leif,

    The test page worked OK. I start Britannica directly from an executable, not from within IE. The executable is located on my hard drive...the program accesses the CD for data.

    I'll give your suggestion a try, though. And, you're not wasting my time. You're being most gracious in trying to help me fix a relatively small problem. Many thanks.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    In order to enhance our user experience Microsoft have removed plugin support from IE 5.5SP2 and IE6. However, in IE 5.5 SP2 it is possible to make a two line *.reg file (subject to all the usual precautions about modifying the registry at your own peril, and backing it up first, and exporting the registry key you alter before you alter it - the key is HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerMain) -
    In Notepad create a blank file called fix.reg with the following content

    REGEDIT4
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerMain]
    "Q261272"="yes"

    Save the file, and then run it. (I've attached a copy but you will need to rename it fix.reg as the system won't allow *.reg files to be sent)
    Restart your computer and see if the plug ins work.
    I managed to recover plug in functionality with this and some of the plug in vendors were delighted to receive news of the hack.
    As far as I know the hack does NOT work with IE6 but DOES work with IE5.5SP2
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Plugins (IE 5.5 SR2)

    Exactly. MS removed the support for Netscape-style plugins in IE6 and in IE5sp2 -- if you upgraded to these, you lost the ability to use those plugins -- of which QuickTime was one of these.

    If the above tweak works, then perfect. There is also a new fix for IE6 and QuickTime from Apple -- it changes the Netscape-style plugin to an ActiveX plugin. I don't know if it works with IE5sp2...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •