Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    deleting previous versions

    hi I am kind of new new to windows 7. I have backed up my computer today 1-29-11.
    IfI do not want want previous versions to show in the dialogue box eg yahoo messenger from an older version going back to 11-20-10, how do I delete or remove it from that box that shows previous versions of the routine?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by schonman View Post
    hi I am kind of new new to windows 7. I have backed up my computer today 1-29-11.
    IfI do not want want previous versions to show in the dialogue box eg yahoo messenger from an older version going back to 11-20-10, how do I delete or remove it from that box that shows previous versions of the routine?
    schonman,
    Hello... could you be more specific about the "how and what you backed up" ? For instance ...did you use a 3rd party imaging software ex: Macrium, Acronis ? Or did you use Windows ? Where did you store the backup ? Is the backup of your whole OS or just "Data"? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    my back up was through the windows system it backed up to an external hard drive i have attached to the computer. it was the OS i backed up to that external drive. I would just like to know how I can remove the older file versions that i have on under previous versions that appear like the version i have for yahoo messenger for 11-20-10. its not needed and takes up space thanks for your reply

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Are you talking about deleting a previous Image? If so simply delete it as you would any other file. Right click and choose delete, then empty the recycle bin.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastover, NC, USA
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    See if this from the How-To Geek helps. I think the only option is to change the settings to retain the latest image. Scroll down the page for the instructions for managing the system image size.

    JB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •