Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Can't start Task Manager

    I have a problem with task manager. In Windows 7 when you press ctrl+alt+del you get a screen offering 5 options. One is Start Task Manager. When I click on Start Task Manager nothing happens. In the Windows Application log I see this error.

    "The Windows logon process has failed to spawn a user application. Application name: taskmgr.exe. Command line parameters: taskmgr.exe /2 ."

    Google searches have turned up many hits. Generally it seems to be a problem with a windows update. Most recommendations are to use system restore or reinstall Windows.

    I just re-installed Windows for another issue, see this thread:
    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...ia-right-click

    Can anyone shed any light on this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    The Windows 7 equivalent for the old ctrl+alt+del is now ctrl+shift+esc. This keyboard combo directly opens Win7's Task Manager. Do you get the same error message when you try it? How about when you right click the Taskbar and select Task Manager?

    There could still be some permissions issues, so if nothing above works, locate the executable 'Taskmgr' in the C:\Windows\System32 folder. Right click and select the Security tab. Select Administrators under the Groups or user names. Beneath Allow you should see check marks in the boxes beside permissions to read & execute and read. These are the Windows 7 default permissions to execute Task Manager. The user TrustedInstaller has full permissions over Task Manager.

    Is the the WMI (Windows Module Installer) service running? This is TrustedInstaller.

    Try right clicking on Taskmgr and selecting Run as Administrator to see what happens.
    Last edited by Deadeye81; 2011-01-30 at 16:24.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    If the previous post does not help, you can reset all Windows 7 user permissions to their defaults by following this guide from Microsoft Answers Feedback Forum:

    Quote:

    Welcome to Microsoft Answers!

    You will need to run ‘Subinacl Tool’ to reset the permission to normal. To reset system permissions, follow the steps:

    1. Download subinacl.msi from the following link, and save it on the desktop.
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=e8ba3e56-d8fe-4a91-93cf-ed6985e3927b&displaylang=en#AffinityDownloads
    2. On the desktop, double-click subinacl.msi to install the tool.
    3. Select C:\Windows\System32 as the destination folder.
    Note This step assumes that Windows is installed in C:\Windows. If Windows is installed elsewhere, select the appropriate path to .\System32.
    4. Open Notepad.
    5. Copy the following commands and then paste them into the opened Notepad window.

    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=system=f

    6. In Notepad click File, Save As, and then type: reset.cmd
    7. In Notepad click Save as type, and then select All Files (*.*).
    8. Save the reset.cmdfile to your desktop, and close Notepad.
    9. Double-click the reset.cmdfile to reset the Windows Update permissions.
    Note This step may take several minutes, so please be patient. When the permissions have been reset, you will be prompted with "Finished, press any key to continue."
    10. Press any key to complete the installation.

    Check if you have the right permissions to all the folders for all users.

    For more information you may check the article given below. The article given is for Windows XP updates, but still holds good for Windows Vista as well as Windows 7.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/968003

    Hope this information is helpful.
    Amrita M
    Microsoft Answers Support Engineer
    Visit our Microsoft Answers Feedback Forum and let us know what you think.

    End quote.

    Hope this helps with the Task Manager difficulties.
    Last edited by Deadeye81; 2011-01-30 at 16:55.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Pressing 'ctrl+alt+del' on my W7 Home Premium, I was able to start Task Manager. ctrl+alt+esc starts task manager instantly.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Pressing 'ctrl+alt+del' on my W7 Home Premium, I was able to start Task Manager. ctrl+alt+esc starts task manager instantly.
    Mistype, I think that's Ctrl+Shift+Esc
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tedshemyers View Post
    Mistype, I think that's Ctrl+Shift+Esc
    Hi Ted, wrong! try 'ctrl+alt+del' on your W7 Ultimate to see what shows.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    I get the same error running from task bar or ctrl+shift+exc, and if I run directly from the taskmanager exe i get this.
    tskmgr.jpg

    I checked the permissions and I have read and execute.

    Interestingly if I right click and run as administrator "Process Explorer" starts. I guess that's correct as I have Processor Explorer installed.

    I'm going to try that program that resets the default permissions.
    Last edited by High Sierra; 2011-01-31 at 09:38. Reason: tpyo, added about permissions

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    I just noticed that Subinacl Tool doesn't indicate that it supports Windows 7. Can someone confirm that it does?

    Never mind, I just reread the post. :-)
    Last edited by High Sierra; 2011-01-31 at 09:44. Reason: added sentence

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    "Is the the WMI (Windows Module Installer) service running? This is TrustedInstaller."

    It wasn't running. It was set to manual. I started it but that made no difference to Task manager.

    The permissions are as they should be.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Deadeye81 View Post
    If the previous post does not help, you can reset all Windows 7 user permissions to their defaults by following this guide from Microsoft Answers Feedback Forum:

    Quote:

    Welcome to Microsoft Answers!



    You will need to run ‘Subinacl Tool’ to reset the permission to normal. To reset system permissions, follow the steps:

    1. Download subinacl.msi from the following link, and save it on the desktop.
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=e8ba3e56-d8fe-4a91-93cf-ed6985e3927b&displaylang=en#AffinityDownloads
    2. On the desktop, double-click subinacl.msi to install the tool.
    3. Select C:\Windows\System32 as the destination folder.
    Note This step assumes that Windows is installed in C:\Windows. If Windows is installed elsewhere, select the appropriate path to .\System32.
    4. Open Notepad.
    5. Copy the following commands and then paste them into the opened Notepad window.

    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=system=f

    6. In Notepad click File, Save As, and then type: reset.cmd
    7. In Notepad click Save as type, and then select All Files (*.*).
    8. Save the reset.cmdfile to your desktop, and close Notepad.
    9. Double-click the reset.cmdfile to reset the Windows Update permissions.
    Note This step may take several minutes, so please be patient. When the permissions have been reset, you will be prompted with "Finished, press any key to continue."
    10. Press any key to complete the installation.

    Check if you have the right permissions to all the folders for all users.

    For more information you may check the article given below. The article given is for Windows XP updates, but still holds good for Windows Vista as well as Windows 7.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/968003

    Hope this information is helpful.
    Amrita M
    Microsoft Answers Support Engineer
    Visit our Microsoft Answers Feedback Forum and let us know what you think.

    End quote.

    Hope this helps with the Task Manager difficulties.
    This didn't help. Also it would not install properly into windows/system32. I had to install into it's default directory and copy to windows/system32.

    Thanks for trying.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Will Task Manager run if you double-click the file itself in Windows\System32?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbearren View Post
    Will Task Manager run if you double-click the file itself in Windows\System32?
    No. See the message image a few posts back.

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Resolved. I uninstalled DAEMON tools program.

    I just had a feeling that this was the problem.

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by High Sierra View Post
    Resolved. I uninstalled DAEMON tools program.

    I just had a feeling that this was the problem.
    it's good to know you have resolved it yourself. I was about to ask what was the lat thing you ever did to your pc or what was the last thing happened before you experience this error. daemon tools with all due respect have a lot of issues regarding win 7 OS. I have uninstalled daemon tools on my win 7 due to issues. Any just a bit of advised you may want to try having a backup image just in case you will experienced the same trouble in the future. Have fun

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Actually I've had DAEMON tools installed for quite some time. I just suddenly remembered that I had issues with it on XP. I've uninstalled several programs trying to resolve this issue. I'll also bet that DAEMON tools had something to do with my other issue (see link earlier in this thread), but the repair/upgrade was able to resolve it.

    Live and learn.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •