Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts

    Whats your PC's Restart Time ?

    To find out, save the zip file and extract to your desktop. Right click and select properties, unblock if needed. Close ALL programs the run the tool.

    Attachment 27313

    My Desktop PC
    Attachment 27314
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    I shut my PC down at about 20:45 and power it up again the next morning at about 05:40. So my restart time is 8 hrs 55 mins.

    I think you should point out to intended users that your VBS program writes to the registry, and uses the HKCU Run key to start the program after the reboot (shouldn't that be RunOnce ?)!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    I shut my PC down at about 20:45 and power it up again the next morning at about 05:40. So my restart time is 8 hrs 55 mins.

    I think you should point out to intended users that your VBS program writes to the registry, and uses the HKCU Run key to start the program after the reboot (shouldn't that be RunOnce ?)!
    Hi BATcher, this is where I found it Click Here
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Untitled.jpg
    Sweet

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Modified script to use RunOnce...worked fine. My time includes reaction time to password prompt and typing in password.

    I'm on a fairly slow internet connection {wi-fi in a RV park} so things like MSE that have to call home slow things down a bit. I'm sure it would be faster at home on cable.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2011-02-02 at 10:36.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    It was only a minor detail, but using RunOnce saves you having to delete the Run registry key after the restart!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Mine is not as good as Clint, but better than RG:

    RestartTime.png

    The more apps you have starting the longer. Makes sense. I also did not shut down all apps before running, i.e.MSE, Touchpad and Bluetooth radio. Shutting these may have shortened slightly. Also had to enter the password.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •