Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Lounger
    Thanks

Line chart to show stock movement

I am new to this messaging, hope the sample arrived OK

My problem: I track stocks weekly. Keep my totals weekly etc. All is good. However I really can't see how each individual stock is performing. (see sample) I want to see a line chart showing the movement of each stock as I enter price data. At present this data is not kept, therefore I know this is necessay. Is this something that a novice can manage? Or am I out of my realm?

Larry
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by larrynz; 2011-02-03 at 10:59.

Thanks
    Could you attach an example workbook with the setup you want to use with more than 1 weeks worth of data. It can be fictitious data. Do you want to plot all the dates or just a subset for each stock?

I would expect the addition of a "date column" (could be actual date, or use a week number) and then add an intermediate calc to extract the value of the stock of interest which woud be charted.

Steve

Lounger
    Thanks
    I only track once a week, so I expect there would be 52 entries during the year. Should these be placed in a row rather than a column?
    "then add an intermediate calc to extract the value of the stock of interest" I am not educated in code and not certain what this means. Actually I would like each chart to show when prices are added. Or so was my desire.

Thanks
    Could you provide a sample file after 2 months so we can see the structure? You only provide one week.

I think the best way for the data would be in columns.

Steve

Lounger
    Thanks