Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Homegroup setup

  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts

    Question Homegroup setup

    Hi Loungers, how do I set up my laptop to connect to my desktop using 'Homegroup'
    Both are Win7 Home Premium.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    RetiredGeek (2011-02-04)

  4. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post
    Thanks Joe, I had been reading This W7 Forums page

    Attachment 27359
    Last edited by Roderunner; 2011-02-03 at 22:07. Reason: Add Image
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    If you've been following the directions at that link, what is your question then? Can you not connect to the homegroup? Have you checked the configuration on the router & PCs?

    Joe

  6. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post
    If you've been following the directions at that link, what is your question then? Can you not connect to the homegroup? Have you checked the configuration on the router & PCs?
    Joe
    Thanks Joe, I can't connect and think its because the 'Homegroup Listener' in Services won't start. Have checked everything AFAIA.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Have you double checked all service settings on the PCs? Can you post a screenshot of the NIC settings for the PC that is unable to join? On the failing PC is the logged in user an admin?

    Joe

  8. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Joe, all services are on default settings, and I'm the only user therefore part of the admin group. Hope image is as asked for.

    Attachment 27364

    Read This Joe
    Last edited by Roderunner; 2011-02-04 at 15:02. Reason: Add Link
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  9. #8
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi RodeRunner! Are the HomeGroup Provider, Server, Security Accounts Manager, and Peer Networking Grouping services running?
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  10. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Deadeye, from what I've read to date, everything I need to run including ipv6 is. Just unable to start Homegroup Listener.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  11. #10
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Your network location is set to Home and not Work, right? Work allows you to do everything Home does, except connect to a HomeGroup. I do not know it that affects the HomeGroup Listener service, but it might.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  12. #11
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts

    Wink Prayers Answered

    If at first you don't suck seed try try again.

    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  13. #12
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    If at first you don't suck seed try try again.

    I'm glad you got it to work. How did you do it?
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  14. #13
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Deadeye, I reset the adapter to default settings, removed all security from both pc's, installed MSE (which I hate but can't comment on or my post will be MOD removed) and started using built-in firewall for the first in a long time. I know it's 2 way filtering is poor, but my Netgear router has NAT, so hopefully I'll be secure. If you can think of a program that will help, RSVP.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  15. #14
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Roderunner, you are running the same setup that I run on two Windows 7 64 bit machines. I've used MSE since it was released as Version 1, and I rely on Windows 7 firewall, but with a little extra help....I use Sphinx Software's Windows 7 Firewall Control Free Edition. It serves as a GUI frontend to the firewall, and it alerts you whenever an application or process wants to call home on the Internet. I find it easier to deal with than editing the Windows Firewall settings on outbound security. All we have to know is the nature of the process wanting to go outbound, and either allow it perpetually, or just the current session, or deny current and/or in the future. Once you have set it to deny an app or process perpetually, you no longer are alerted, but a little notification quietly arises from your network icon on the notification bar, letting you know it was blocked. And, it takes very little in the way of resources to run in the background.

    My Linksys router also has NAT. I have used Windows 7 since its RTM, and have never had an infection with this combination.

    There is another Windows 7 PC in the house that does not have the Sphinx firewall control installed, and it has been as safe as the other two, so you should be in good shape with your setup.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  16. #15
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Deadeye, I read about your link on CNET, it got varying reviews for & against, so I'll just leave well alone for now.
    In the past, I used Gibson's site to test my firewall's. Test 1, both FW's ON, 100% stealth, as was Test 2 with my software FW disabled.
    I have also upped my security, by adding Trend Micro's RUBotted + WinPatrol. I increased OpenDNS settings to moderate and the Updater tool keeps me up to date when router is rebooted. I'm not a Disney fan, so I stay off Mickey Mouse sites.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •