Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: IE Corruption?

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE Corruption?

    Asus laptop running Vista Home Premium 64 bit. Firefox is installed as the default browser but I can't run IE when I want to since I get an error message that says "Internet Explorer has stopped working". Clicking on the "Close program" button only causes the dialog box to restart and IE continues to try to run. Closing IE with the red X shuts it down.

    I have tried to remove IE but have not been successful with that. I also tried to install IE9 beta to fix the problem but it refuses to install saying that a later version is already installed.

    Any ideas on how to fix this?
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-02-04 at 08:50.
    Wally

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Try running IE with addons disabled.

    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Did that, no help.
    Wally

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    What version of IE is installed?

    Did the uninstall roll back when it was unsuccessful?

    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Pretty sure it is IE 8 but you can't check it because the dialog box stops it from running - "About IE" is grayed out. The installation of IE 9 just stopped. Don't know if an installation did not finish or uninstall.
    Wally

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Was able to uninstall IE 9 via the update list. Now IE 8 seems to be running fine. Thanks for the help.
    Wally

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Glad you got it working. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •