Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts

    UAC Exlude certain programs

    Every time I use certain programs, like True Image, Malewarebytes et...I get the UAC popup to allow the program.

    Is there a way to exclude individual programs from that warning pop up?

    I don't want to shut it off completely because I like the feature.

    It's really a pain...

    Thanks guys...

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    The general behavior of UAC can be modified, but to date I have not discovered a way to alter UAC behavior for specific programs.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Yes, I know it can be modified but the modifications are global..

    Well, maybe some out there knows if it's possible...

    For the first solution to this I will gladly send them an autographed picture of myself suitable for framing...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    There are no program exclusions in UAC period, but it can be worked around...
    Ignore UAC for specific programs

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Thanks Clint, kinda confusing what you recommended.
    I'll have to study it some more and see if it's worth the trouble..

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    As annoying as UAC can be the settings are all or nothing. The work around Clint recommended is OK but should be used sparingly. If for some reason your system got infected and the malware started a program that is normally does not run with elevated privileges you should still see the UAC prompt. If it popped up for no reason that should give you pause.

    Joe

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Well, I'm not gonna bother fiddling with it.
    It's only a few programs that it does it on.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Banyarola,

    I've used the Event Scheduler to get around this problem. You set up an event to Run On Demand w/elevated privledges. Then create a shortcut to run the event.

    Sample Shortcut: C:\Windows\System32\schtasks.exe /run /TN "Launch Autoruns"

    If you need help setting up the Scheduled Event post back and I cobble together a tutorial.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •