Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts

    Angry USB will not stop.

    Hi Loungers.
    In my quest to get 'Homegroup' to work 'Detailled Here' has caused an annoying change to removing hardware (only USB's so far) if I plug in one of them, wait till it loads, then use 'Safely Remove Hardware' without opening it, I get the usual message, and have to reboot before it can be safely unplugged. As my link shows, all I did was remove both Outpost Firewalls and let Windows Fireball do its thing.

    Attachment 27393
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Hey RR, how's it going.

    Fred Langa recommends using Workgroups rather than Homegroups. I was using Homegroups for my network, but switched to Workgroups following Fred's recommendation. Has worked great.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Do you have any Windows Explorer instances running?

    Joe

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post
    Do you have any Windows Explorer instances running?

    Joe
    Hi Joe, NOTHING else is running.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    You might try using Process Explorer to see if you can nail down what has the device assigned.

    Joe

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post
    You might try using Process Explorer to see if you can nail down what has the device assigned.
    Joe
    Joe
    Hi Joe, as this is caused by attempting to get Homegroup to work, I'll try to explain as short as possible.
    -
    Original Setup's. Desktop - Avast & Outpost FW Pro. Laptop - Outpost Security Suite Free. Set HG on both, neither could see the other.
    -
    Tried everything I read as my other posts, 100% failure.
    -
    New Setup's. Both pc's MSE & Windows Firewall. Original uninstall using Revo.
    -
    HG set up worked, but as already stated, USB's would not 'stop'. So was not a happy chappy.
    -
    Enter Ted as above. Followed advice from his link.
    -
    At sometime during all this, I had contacted Agnitum support, there were new versions for both, so I installed them one at a time starting on my desktop. At this point I was more confused than you at this moment, so cant say how its set up.
    -
    Result with both FW's installed, I can get full access from Laptop to Desktop using Network connection, but not in opposite direction, not that I use it, Laptop is only ON when in use.
    -
    USB can now be safely removed first time. If you had read this first, you would have go my short reply as promised.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    RR,

    I've had problems with the Safely Remove hardware icon on several machines. Some times it works and some times it doesn't. Case in point I have 2 GPS {My wife & I are Geocachers} both are Garmins. The 1490T we use for the car and RV responds just fine to the Safely Remove request. The Oregon 400 handheld always pops up with an error message. Go figure.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RR,

    I've had problems with the Safely Remove hardware icon on several machines. Some times it works and some times it doesn't. Case in point I have 2 GPS {My wife & I are Geocachers} both are Garmins. The 1490T we use for the car and RV responds just fine to the Safely Remove request. The Oregon 400 handheld always pops up with an error message. Go figure.
    I'll stick to road maps.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •