Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    External HD keeps XP machine from rebooting

    I recently attached an external Seagate 1.5 TB hard drive to my XP machine for backup purposes. USB connection. Works fine. Except when it is necessary to reboot the computer. The reboot function hangs at the beginning until I disconnect the external HD, and then the reboot continues normally. Then I reconnect the HD and it appears all is well. Any ideas what is causing the freeze of the reboot with the hardware connected? ... I guess I can work around the problem, but it is a little annoying.

    Al

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Is BIOS setup to boot from USB before booting from internal drive?

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Check for chipset driver updates at the OEM site for your PC.

    Do you have SP-3 for XP installed? Is XP fully up-to-date with patches?

    Joe

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Now there is something I didn't think of. I don't think it is, but I will check.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post
    Check for chipset driver updates at the OEM site for your PC.

    Do you have SP-3 for XP installed? Is XP fully up-to-date with patches?

    Joe
    Yeah. SP3 fully up-to-date including this week's.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tfspry View Post
    Is BIOS setup to boot from USB before booting from internal drive?
    Disabled boot from USB .... still won't reboot if external USB HD is connected. Works fine if I disconnect. Maybe that's the way I'll have to go with this.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Is your BIOS up-to-date?

    Are your chipset drivers up-to-date?

    Joe

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AlStewart View Post
    Disabled boot from USB .... still won't reboot if external USB HD is connected. Works fine if I disconnect. Maybe that's the way I'll have to go with this.
    ALStewart,
    Hello... Does the HD show up in the boot que? (BIOS Menu) Could be for some reason it set itself first in the boot order. ... Does the HD have a OS on it? Is it just for "DATA" storage? Regards Fred

    PS: Also is there a "pin jumper" setting on the HD something like "Master \ Slave"?
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-02-09 at 15:23.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    ALStewart,
    Hello... Does the HD show up in the boot que? (BIOS Menu) Could be for some reason it set itself first in the boot order. ... Does the HD have a OS on it? Is it just for "DATA" storage? Regards Fred

    PS: Also is there a "pin jumper" setting on the HD something like "Master \ Slave"?
    HD does not show up in the boot que. Boot from USB device has been disabled.

    It does "presumably" have OS on it as part of the backup of both C: and D: drives, but not set up as a bootable drive. If it was, seems to me it would continue boot process instead of freezing at opening Intel screen.

    No "pin jumper" accessible if there is one. The case is not easily opened.

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    AlStewart,
    What does the drive look like when you look in Administrative Tools>Computer Management>Disk management? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    AlStewart,
    What does the drive look like when you look in Administrative Tools>Computer Management>Disk management? Regards Fred
    It looks just like the D: drive, except a whole lot bigger. It's labeled as "Free Agent Drive E:" which is the label the built in Seagate software put on it.

    Al

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    AL,
    Can you change the drive letter ? Just to see what happens when you try and re-boot... Maybe some conflict with"E:" Also what is it's "Status" Logical, Primary, etc. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Creston, Br. Columbia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    AL,
    Can you change the drive letter ? Just to see what happens when you try and re-boot... Maybe some conflict with"E:" Also what is it's "Status" Logical, Primary, etc. Regards Fred
    Fred,

    Been there done that! (-: ... Same thing occurred to me ... so swapped letters. Unfortunately no change in how things operate. It's a weird one.

    Where do you find the status ... logical etc.?

    Al

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    It looks like this is a common Seagate problem.
    Take a look at these links ....
    http://forums.seagate.com/t5/FreeAge...ive/td-p/31715

    http://forums.seagate.com/t5/FreeAge...scending#M7962

    And check the Boot failure ... section of this link ....
    http://forums.seagate.com/t5/FreeAge...first/m-p/3687

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AlStewart View Post

    Where do you find the status ... logical etc.?

    Al
    AL,
    When your in "Disk Management"
    Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •