Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    100% processor use with IE 7 and 8

    I have a computer that uses a 4200 dual core Intel processor and 2 Gig of Ram...when using Internet Explorer, the CPU useage as shown in Task Manager is 100 % for most of the time,,,even when not connected to the internet...I have run my McAfee program and also HouseCall from Trend Micro, and only one thing came up which I fixed...however the problem still exists....any suggests on what the problem is and how to fix it, etc is appreciated....thanks, John

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 588 Times in 525 Posts
    Have you tried running IE with addins disabled?

    Joe

  4. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,571
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 518 Times in 467 Posts
    Also run Malwarebytes .

  5. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,334
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 467 Times in 429 Posts
    I have run my McAfee program and also HouseCall from Trend Micro, and only one thing came up which I fixed...however the problem still exists....any suggests on what the problem is and how to fix it, etc is appreciated....thanks, John
    What was the "one thing"?

  6. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,571
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 518 Times in 467 Posts
    In task manager, go to the processes tab, check the Show processes from all users, and click twice on the cpu column twice to sort on cpu usage. This may identify the process that's hogging your CPU (s).

    Jerry

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burien, WA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You also didn't mention what OS you're using. I feel it's either one of your add-ons or perhaps malware...
    A former Soggy Sysop from Seattle!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •