Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry Want to stop those ads linked to text in Firefox

    Firefox v.3.6.13
    Windows Vista

    Is there a way to stop those ads linked to words or phrases in text on a page?
    linked ads.jpg

    I get these also in IE.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by 7zuki; 2011-02-10 at 20:45. Reason: To add FF version.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,178
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    Try the Ad Block Plus addin for FF.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    7zuki (2011-02-17)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    I haven't seen those for IntelliTXT ads years. Since I installed the NoScript extension.

  5. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Try the Ad Block Plus addin for FF.
    Yes, that seems to be working. Thanks!

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wilkes Barre, Pa
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Another alternative is to use the local HOSTS file to stop the advertising you receive on a web page. In addition to stopping the advert result you will reduce usage of your bandwidth. Each "link" is a name requiring a DNS look up. By referencing the local node of 127.0.0.1 you will stay off the network (yours and the ISP's).

    The following link will get you there, but registration is required. The software is free...and so are the updates.

    I have used this method for a few years with this software. You may have to browse the list when you feel the site you want has been blocked.

    http://blocklistpro.com/

    following is a copy of the info from that page.
    Hosts File Manager

    Keeping your Hosts file up to date has never been easier with the BISS Hosts File Manager and it's wide range of features. Options like Personal Inclusions and Personal Exclusions designed to help manage your own collection of bad sites / domains were a feature we had only ever seen before in the Blocklist Manager for IP addresses, until now.
    Included with the Hosts File Manager is the Hosts Switch, a floating transparent toolbar giving you FAST access to enable or disable your Hosts file.
    The Hosts Switch is a great tool for adding new entries directly to your Hosts file without actually needing to open and edit your Hosts file each time you want to add something new to block.
    Check out the Hosts Managers full list of features.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to brucewebs For This Useful Post:

    7zuki (2011-02-17)

  8. #6
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,306
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Abine TACO-3 is an Extension available for all three major browsers, and it blocks most unwanted ads and trackers. (Read this week's Windows Secrets Paid Content article about "Evercookies".) Combined with NoScript, TACO will keep those little popups at bay on most sites.
    -- Bob Primak --

  9. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @brucewebs:
    BISS Hosts File Manager "Not suitable for Vista - Use at your own risk." Too bad.
    Last edited by 7zuki; 2011-02-17 at 23:01. Reason: added @brucewebs

  10. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I think Spybot has a similar function to use the hosts file to block bad sites.

  11. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dunkeld, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I use a similar program HostsMan which allows easy updating of the Hosts file. I also use Spybot.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to garthp For This Useful Post:

    7zuki (2011-02-24)

  13. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by garthp View Post
    I use a similar program HostsMan which allows easy updating of the Hosts file. I also use Spybot.
    I just installed HostsMan, but am uncertain how to use "Update Hosts". Should I just go with the defaults, which are to install only "MVPD Hosts", and "Merge with current hosts"? Please tell me what has worked best for you.

    Thanks

  14. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dunkeld, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 7zuki View Post
    I just installed HostsMan, but am uncertain how to use "Update Hosts". Should I just go with the defaults, which are to install only "MVPD Hosts", and "Merge with current hosts"? Please tell me what has worked best for you. Thanks
    Yes, that's what I have also used. Seems to do the trick.

  15. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, California, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    HOSTS file works for me (Firefox)

    The HOSTS file as an ad blocker works well. In Firefox there is a simple way to get rid of the useless message that replaces the blocked ad. I'll leave that for another post but it can be found in a web search.

    It should be said I use simple batch files to almost automate the next part.
    First I date check my HOSTS file against the mvps website latest replacement file: http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.txt
    If the website file is newer than mine, I download it to my desktop: http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.zip
    Then I replace my existing HOSTS file with the new one (unzipping it in the process).

    To bypass the HOSTS file takes a simple toggle.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    :: hostsbak.bat
    :: Just type hostsbak and your HOSTS file is renamed hosts.bak Type hostsbak again and hosts.bak once again becomes HOSTS
    :: NOTE: Close Firefox open windows during this renaming.

    @echo off
    if exist c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\HOSTS goto next
    if exist c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts.bak ren c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts.bak HOSTS
    if not errorlevel 1 (echo. & echo HOSTS file restored & goto end)

    :next
    ren c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\HOSTS hosts.bak
    if not errorlevel 1 (echo. & echo HOSTS file renamed to hosts.bak & echo.)
    :end
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •