Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

Printing problem with new Win7 PC

I have just got a new pc with windows 7 home premium. i loaded the drivers for my hp allinone c3180 printer. this went well and i was able to print a test page but can't print from office or any windows programs. the print job gets stuck in the printer queue and reports an error(nothing more specific). i have tried the hp and windows printer diagnostic tools which both state everything is working properly. i have stopped and restarted the printer spool ,deleted and reloaded the drivers ,tried the inbuilt windows drivers --all to no avail. Can some kind person please help.(i am a relative novice)?
    Thanks

Thanks
    stevenliv, Welcome to the new Lounge. Enjoy your stay.

You do not say whether your Win 7 installation is 32 Bit or 64 Bit. Be advised that the printer drivers must be the same Bitness as the OS. Perhaps this is where your problem lies.

How is the printer connected to the PC? I have a wireless multifunction printer/scan/copier on my home network. My desktop is connected through USB, but our laptops connect wirelessly. I had numerous problems until I connected the printer to the network router through an ethernet cable. Now I can connect wirelessly through the router.

I hope one of these suggestions help.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted

Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)

Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Gold Lounger
    Thanks
    stevenliv,
    Hello... Welcome to WS lounge. In "Control Panel" > "Devices and Printers" ...Is the HP c3180 set as "Default"? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks for speedy replies . The drivers and the os are both 64 bit, it is the default printer and it is connected by USB . Help please.

Gold Lounger
    Thanks