Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lullington
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problems with Firefox and IE9

    I had to reload Vista a while ago and since then, Firefox does not work when filling out forms (listing on Ebay, entering competitions on a website etc..) Nothing has worked so far to solve this. I've had to switch to IE9 for both those tasks which is quite clunky and slow in comparison. It does ont happen for all forms but many. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I think you must mean IE8, IE9 is still in RC version (released yesterday) I have found IE9 RC much faster than FF, rivaling Chrome 10 beta
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Try the Autofill forms add on for Firefox.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lullington
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am using IE9 - downloaded it a couple of days ago. As for Autofill, I already use Roboform which Firefox used to recognise and still does for passwords: it's only with certain forms - not all of them. I'll try Autofill anyway but would still like to solve the problem.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paulallard View Post
    I am using IE9 - downloaded it a couple of days ago. As for Autofill, I already use Roboform which Firefox used to recognise and still does for passwords: it's only with certain forms - not all of them. I'll try Autofill anyway but would still like to solve the problem.
    The RC version was released Thursday, 10th February. There is no comparison between this one and FF, speed wise, sorry.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lullington
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I agree: I still use FF as my main broswer but it's frustrating not being able to use it for everything. Could this be some kind of script problem ? or Cookies ? It's only an issue when dealing with listings on Ebay and filling in forms on some websites.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    I find the release candidate version of IE9 much faster than the latest beta of Firefox.

    Jerry

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lullington
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've ended up uising Google Chrome for my Ebay listing, better than both IE9 and FF. Still doesn't solve my FF problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •