Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    View Form/subform data specific client

    Hi... I have a form which displays client information and a subform that displays 'issues' logged for each client. We want to be able to prompt for a specific client number and display the 'issues' that have already been added for that client and be able to add new 'issues' as well. The form and subform each have a DQRFileID field to link the records in a one to many relationship.

    I was prompting for the client number (from the query in the recordsource) in the form and it displays the client info but not the subform issues that have been added.

    Is there something I'm missing?

    (Using Access 2007)

    Thanks,
    Sue

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    What you are asking for is standard behaviour and "should" work. But there could by many reasons why it does not.

    Have you set the Link Master and Link Child fields to DQRFileID?

    linkfields.gif

    If you the open the subform by itself does it show any records?
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes the master and child links are set, but no the subform does not display any records. ??? The recordsource is tblIssues.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    IS the subform based directly on tblIssues, or on a query that uses tblIssues?

    Can you post a demo db - just the subform and tblIssues (or any other tables/queries) needed for the subform.
    Zip the file to attach it.
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi John... I attached a file (hope I did it properly). There are two buttons on the menu. One opens frmDQRFile which is supposed to display all the clients and their issues. The second button opens frmDQRFile-SpecificCompany and displays the records for the Client number specified on the menu. The frmDQRIssues is used as a subform for both of the forms. The subform is not displaying for either one of the forms. Maybe you can suggest something so I can just use the frmDQRFile to display either all the clients or just a specified client.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    Sorry Sue, it looks like your file still didn't attach. Are you using the instructions in http://windowssecrets.com/forums/faq...b3_attachments to attach it? It doesn't work in the Quick Reply area - you need to click either the Reply button or the GO Advanced button. Also you may want to ZIP the database file to make it smaller.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Trying to Attach database

    I don't know what I'm doing wrong but I can't seem to get the file to attach. I hit the Go Advanced button, then Manage Attachments, selected the zip file then hit upload. It says the file uploaded but I assume I should see the attachment in the reply box?

    Am I still doing something wrong?

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    After you close the attachment window, you then hit submit.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Attachment file

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well... I repeated the file upload, closed the window then hit Submit Reply, but I still don't see the attachment anywhere

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Email it to me and i will attach it here, my email is thornp@iprimus.com.au

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    One thing you could check. If you set the Data Entry property of the subform to Yes, then it will not display any existing records. (It is found on the Data tab of the Property sheet.)
    Regards
    John



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •