Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    617
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Updating chart automatically in slideshow view

    Working in PPT 2007.

    I want to be on one slide, hyperlink to an Excel sheet, put in some numbers, close and save the spreadsheet, move to next slide, and have the chart on the new slide updated with the current chart information. I think I will need some VBA because the chart doesn't update when moving to the next slide.

    Thanks for any and all help.

    Fay

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    I think you might need some VBA too.

    If you add this macro to your presentation then you can add a button on one of the slides (probably best on the slide where the chart is shown) to run it.

    Sub UpdateCharts()
    ActivePresentation.UpdateLinks
    End Sub
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    617
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Didn't work, but it should have

    Ok. I created the macro. Created an action button and assigned the macro to it. Test drove it with no crash, but didn't get across the line either. In slideshow view I clicked a link to the Excel spreadsheet, changed data, closed and saved Excel, clicked the update button, the mouse spun, went to the next slide and the old data remains in place. If I go out of slideshow the data is automatically updated as you would expect. But I need it to do that in slideshow view.

    Any further ideas?

    Thanks.

    Fay

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    Hmm, it worked for me in slideshow mode (Office 2010). I put the update button on the same slide as the chart.

    I can't replicate your problem so perhaps you need to provide the PPTM and XLS files for us to test.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    617
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had another gentleman check it. It worked for him, but like you he was working with 2010 version of PPT. I tried on another 2007 machine with the same results. I checked the trust settings they are okay. I recreated a new PPT. It just doesn't work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •