Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    dallas, tx. usa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Installing Ubuntu 10.10 64bit on usb WD hd

    Hello,
    i'M considering installing ubuntu 10.10 on a WD usb drive??
    http://www.pendrivelinux.com/install...sb-hard-drive/
    From the above URL they suggest ((( disconnecting ))) All other hard drives????

    I sure hope there's an easier way? I sure don't want to try and open this win 7 box and mess something up?? ME doing anything inside would be an accident waiting to happen!!
    Is - or could it be as simple as installing from the live CD into my external HD???

    I understand the reason for disconnecting sata HD so ubuntu won't go to C drive, but it shouldn't when in Gparted I have my usb drive highlighted and the only one available???
    Any help/info. is appreciated.
    John in Dallas

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lonestarone View Post

    I understand the reason for disconnecting sata HD so ubuntu won't go to C drive, but it shouldn't when in Gparted I have my usb drive highlighted and the only one available???
    Any help/info. is appreciated.
    John,
    Hello... I use (sometimes) Linux Mint "Isadora" on it's own internal HD. I can't answer your question about "Ubuntu" but.... When i installed Mint it wanted to make itself the "Big Dog" (default OS ) the only way around for me was to power down and unplug all HD's except the one that i wanted to install mint on , and "boot " from the CD.(left it no choice) Afterwords i installed EasyBCD NeoSmart v-2.0 (free)http://neosmart.net/dl.php?id=1 ( on my "default" OS) and then i could select whichever OS that i wanted to be the "default" (also assign drive names and letters) Just be careful ...if not offered where "Ubuntu" wants to install to. Regards Fred
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-02-18 at 19:46.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    My daughter attempted to install Ubuntu on a external drive and she thought she had made the correct partitioning selection. She ended up with Ubuntu on the external drive and her main drive was wiped, reformatted, and Grub loaded on it. She was not happy. So it is way to easy to make a mistake. I've installed various flavors of Linux numerous times and even I unplug the other drives because I just don't trust the partitioning built into the installer.

    Also, there is the boot sector issue. By unplugging the C: drive, Ubuntu will not overwrite the boot sector on that drive. That does mean you will have to go into the BIOS and change the boot order to boot into Ubuntu. But once you do, and run update-grub, you should then have a Grub menu that lets you choose between Win 7 and Ubuntu. And if your Ubuntu disk ever goes south, just change the BIOS back to using the C: drive boot sector and you are back on Win 7 in no time.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    dallas, tx. usa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hello - All,
    Solved the problem!! Virtual Box!! Works flawlessly !! Now I have all my windows things, on the same drive as Ubuntu....Hate dual booting, anyway...I tried VB on earlier versions, didn't work...The latest version 4.00??? works like a charm!!
    The best way to try other OS's and NOT corrupt windows. Can get my pass words stored in roboform on win 7 and import them into last pass ( new p.w. mgr for xmarks ) everything simply WORKS!! A happy win7 and Ubuntu camper!
    Thanks / John in Dallas

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I used the Universal USB Installer (see http://bit.ly/d9EtZP ) when installing Ub10.10 to a stick. I disconnected the external drive to be on the safe side but needn't have worried.

    HTH,

    Roger

  6. #6
    This user has been Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Best dual boot tutorial I've found

    ...which is not saying much since it still leaves out some info and is 3 years old:
    http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_w...lled_first.htm
    I've done this on half a dozen machines, none of which I had XP disks for. Most just had XP recovery partitions. So if XP dies on them, good riddance. The biggest problem I had was finding how to set the default boot to what my wife likes (Win7). Some distros you have to install StartUp Manager. Also, some times Windoze Update overwrites Grub and I keep SuperGrub on a CD to fix that. I usually keep all files on the Windows partition although it would be smarter to keep them all on a separate partition (FAT) in case either OS dies.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger Hawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Georgia - USA
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Another possible option for a dual boot setup is with Wubi.
    It does a much better job of partitioning a hard drive than regular Ubuntu. It will let you select the drive you want to install it on.
    What may be a downside is that the max partition size is 30 GB.
    Last edited by Hawk; 2011-03-03 at 09:28.
    Hawk

  8. #8
    This user has been Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Just another suggestion for the Linux community

    (Based on a thread in Slashdot) When you buy a computer you get Windows basically for free; it's paid for by the crapware loaded on it ("trial" versions of MS Office, Norton, MSN, etc.). So somebody should write a complete set of instructions that shows your mother how to install Linux in a dual-boot, and everybody will be happier and safer (except the folks that paid Microsoft to install their crapware). It would include downloading and burning the CD, backing up data, re-partitioning, installing and setting the boot priority. There are some instructions and tutorials, but IMO they are incomplete, written by geeks, and have some gaps where the n00b goes, "huh?? what's that mean?". Write it, then set your uncle down in front of the screen and watch him follow the instructions, then refine the instructions until your mother in law can do it without panicking. You will never again get phone calls wanting you to "help out with a little problem I have on my PC....."

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bath England
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have also found wubi to be successful. I followed the wizard and allowed Ubuntu to be installed within the C drive. The default size suggested by the installer is 17GB but I only used 8GB as all data is on the D partition. The 8GB was also the defauilt size when I experimented, successfully, with Ubuntu inside Virtualbox.
    The D partition holds the data and is accessible from Windows 7 and Ubuntu Lucid.

    Brian

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mid-Alantic East Coast, USA, Planet Earth, Milky Way Galaxy
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lonestarone View Post
    Hello - All,
    Solved the problem!! Virtual Box!! Works flawlessly !! Now I have all my windows things, on the same drive as Ubuntu....Hate dual booting, anyway...I tried VB on earlier versions, didn't work...The latest version 4.00??? works like a charm!!
    The best way to try other OS's and NOT corrupt windows. Can get my pass words stored in roboform on win 7 and import them into last pass ( new p.w. mgr for xmarks ) everything simply WORKS!! A happy win7 and Ubuntu camper!
    Thanks / John in Dallas
    Not to burst your bubble, but VBox doesn't let the Guest OS access your hardware directly. My PC has a Nvidia video card, but my Guest OS ( Ubuntu ), wasn't displaying at full res. Normally I'd just update the video driver. Not with VBox. It emulates something very generic.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pchlpdr View Post
    VBox doesn't let the Guest OS access your hardware directly.
    That's true, which does somewhat limit the eye candy. I have Ubuntu 10.10 installed in Visrtual box on all 3 of my PCs. In addition I dual boot with Win7/Ubuntu on my laptop. I don't see that much difference between the user interface when running physically or running within VirtualBox.

    Quote Originally Posted by pchlpdr View Post
    My PC has a Nvidia video card, but my Guest OS ( Ubuntu ), wasn't displaying at full res.
    Have you installed the VirtualBox Guest Additions? Until you do so, you are stuck with a limited range of display sizes. But with Guest Additions installed, you can drag the VirtualBox window edges to increase the client OSes (Ubuntu in this case) screen resolution. The Ubuntu client I am running right now in VirtualBox has a screen resoltuon of 1707x994. Weird, huh?

    I have to admit that I don't like this quite as much as the way VMWare Server worked - the VMWare Server virtual display allowed a large number of display resolutions which were based on the hosts display resolution. I wish that VirtualBox would show the clients screen resolution while I dragged the window edges - then I would have half a chance to get the 1680x1050 resolution I prefer.
    Last edited by cafed00d; 2011-03-06 at 19:18.

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    dallas, tx. usa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by pchlpdr View Post
    Not to burst your bubble, but VBox doesn't let the Guest OS access your hardware directly. My PC has a Nvidia video card, but my Guest OS ( Ubuntu ), wasn't displaying at full res. Normally I'd just update the video driver. Not with VBox. It emulates something very generic.
    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    Hello - JM,
    That may be, but I did upgrade my Nvidia card, seems to work OK...I have all compiz functions I want..Guest Additions does make a difference, though...Didn't look right until I installed them...For Ubuntu and pass words....SXIPPER...great utility....Just works and will import roboform files....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •