Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Keyboard

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    maine
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Keyboard

    When I press Shift Control, the keyboard is remapped, so if you press "a b c" you get "a x j"

    It has done this on other keyboards.
    I have an HP with Windows 7 Home Premium with a Logitech keyboard, although it did this with the original keyboard.

    Suggestions would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I would first try to download a driver for the keyboard from the Logitech site. This might be the easiest solution.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Ridley,

    Interesting! I'm using a Logitech MK320 wireless keyboard/mouse combo on my laptop. When I hold Ctrl+Shift and a letter I get nothing in Notepad? This is a plug & play unit and I didn't load any drivers. YMMV.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Logitech G15 with Windows 7 here.
    I have never encountered anything even remotely similar.
    Perhaps you should re-examine what programs you have installed that may be responsible for this.
    I use no drivers for this plug and play keyboard. No separate programable keyboard software either.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Ridley, hello.

    2011-02-18 17:29

    >>>When I press Shift Control, the keyboard is remapped, so if you press "a b c" you get "a x j"

    These are keystrokes to "flop" KB languages. You best bet is to go into Control Panel -> Region and Language -> hit the tab that says "Keyboards and Languages" and hit the "Change Keyboard" then select the required language. Next, use the "Advance kye settings" and you will be on your way to happiness. Any keyboard will give you this strange result as it is software, not hardware. JP.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •