Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts

    RAM being "Eaten"!

    My RAM slowly "fills up" over time after booting. This is a new issue, having started since IE9 RC and the latest update to Silverlight were installed. (Nothing else has been added to, or removed from, or changed on my System: Windows 7 64-bit with ALL updates, patches etc up to the most recent download date).

    I run a gadget called "System Monitor II" (V9.7). Upon booting, it shows my RAM as 45%, Page file 0% and "Mem Usage" as 35%. 20 minutes later, having run IE9 RC and closed it again, RAM is 64%, Page file is 2% and "Mem Usage" is 49%. If I leave the system as is, after about 1 hour the gadget freezes with RAM at 78% and the other counters are each frozen at higher than earlier readings. Norton Inernet Security "Performance Monitor" reports "excess program activity" for Windows Gadgets. If I re-boot, all starts off OK again and then RAM usage increases all ove again as before. On one occasion, the gadget locked and reported an error:
    "No WMI Info!" with instructions to run a Dos command to reset the gadget. It had no effect. I have un-installed Silverlight: The problem still persists. I have run Mozilla Firefox instead of IE9 RC after a re-boot. The same probelm occurs. Ihave closed all gadgets and tried a differetn single gadget that monitors RAM: The same problem occurs: RAM slowly fills up (even if I do not open any browser after re-booting). What could be the problem? (I repeat: None of the above ever happened before installation of IE9 RC and the latest Silverlight Update).
    Last edited by petesmst; 2011-02-19 at 08:50. Reason: Corrected typos.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,761
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by petesmst View Post
    (I repeat: None of the above ever happened before installation of IE9 RC and the latest Silverlight Update).
    [/FONT]
    Try uninstalling IE9 RC and see what happens. The "RC" is a clue. Internet Explorer is very deeply embedded in the OS, and even when it's "not running", it's running.

    I personally am going to wait a couple or three months after it has become available as a Windows Update option before I even consider it.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Thanks bbearren. I have noticed others have the same problem see here: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...d-d7fda9f187bc

    I am busy trying some of the "solutions" users of the above forum seem to have found to be successful.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Run task manager. Click on the processes tab. Click view > select columns and add memory - working set and memory peak working set. Click on the column headers to sort. This may help identify the culprits.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Thanks jwitalka. I had just done that. The side bar is "massively" active. I will disable it , re-boot and then after about 20 minutes, open the "system monitor II" gadget and see if RAM has already being "flooding" or if it only starts then. By the way the "digital dutch clock" gadget nw no-longer loads: Just a blackened very vague image of the clock appears. So, IMHO, something has ben installed with IE9 RC that interferes with/is intefered by the side bar/certain gadgets.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Some more discovered: I have installed/uninstalled a number of different gadgets whilst watching Memory "Working Set" and "peak working set" in Task manager. It seems, most gadgets that constantly monitor processes of the System are causing RAM to "fill up" slowly in some cases, much faster in others. Most clock gadgets steadily "fill" RAM and so do System Monitors, network monitors and drive monitor Gadgets. So, I must assume that Windows 7 Service Pack 1 is NOT going to solve this issue. (I am running 64-bit Windows 7 Professional Plus).
    Last edited by petesmst; 2011-02-19 at 12:29. Reason: Corrected typos
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Be careful regarding which memory data you are looking at. Wins 7 will automatically claim free RAM to memory-map files used by running programs. This mapping is done as long as programs don't need the memory - if you start another program then Win 7 will unmap some file(s) to free up RAM for the new program. The file mapping is done to improve performance of running programs. Some of the memory data info counts the RAM used for file mapping, and others don't. So if Task Manager under Physical Memory says that Free is 0 (or very low), don't panic. (There was a thread about this a while back, and you can probably fine better descriptions than mine by googling.)

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    cafed00d. Thanks. I executed the Gadget tests with no other programs running at all over a period of just over three hours. If there are no gadgets running, RAM load remains absolutely constant. the moment I run a gadget that monitors any of the aspects mentioned in my previous psot, RAM starts to fill. The rate depends on the nature of the Gadget and how frequently it samples what it is monitoring. If I unijstall the gadget, RAM does not "empty"...(?) Bt it does stop "filling up."
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Situation Update: I uninstalled IE9 RC and "voila" Everything works as it should. To test, I installed a number of "system heavy" gadgets (GPU Monitor, Network Montor II, Drives Monitor and System Monitor II as well as the "Digital Dutch Clock"). All wotk fine, there is absolutely no RAM usage increase. So, I must assume IE9 RC was the culprit.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •