Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts

    Thumbs down IE9 Release Candidate: RAM "Issue" (Sidebar)

    I initially posted the detail of this issue in the Windows 7 forum, but since I have established that IE9 RC has been the case of my problem. Here are the facts again:

    I noticed my RAM slowly "filled up" over time after booting, until it was "full" and my whole system stalled. This was a new issue, having started since installing IE9 RC. (Nothing else has been added to, or removed from, or changed on my System: Windows 7 64-bit with ALL updates, patches etc up to the most recent download date).
    One of my gadgets is "System Monitor II" (V9.7). Upon booting, it shows my RAM as 45%, Page file 0% and "Mem Usage" as 35%. 20 minutes later, having run IE9 RC and closed it again, RAM is 64%, Page file is 2% and "Mem Usage" is 49%. If I leave the system as is, after about 1 hour the gadget freezes with RAM at 78% and the other counters are each frozen at higher than earlier readings. Norton Inernet Security "Performance Monitor" reports "excess program activity" for Windows Gadgets. If I re-boot, all starts off OK again and then RAM usage increases all ove again as before. On one occasion, the gadget locked and reported an error: "No WMI Info!" with instructions to run a Dos command to reset the gadget. It had no effect. I have un-installed Silverlight: The problem still persists. I have run Mozilla Firefox instead of IE9 RC after a re-boot. The same probelm occurs. Ihave closed all gadgets and tried a differetn single gadget that monitors RAM: The same problem occurs: RAM slowly fills up (even if I do not open any browser after re-booting). What could be the problem? (I repeat: None of the above ever happened before installation of IE9 RC and the latest Silverlight Update)

    I have noticed other computer users have reported the same problem, see here: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...d-d7fda9f187bc (If this link fails, it is supposed to take you to the Internet Explorer Tech Centre on the Microsoft technet Form)

    I tried some of the "solutions" users of the above forum seem to have found to be successful, but whilst they initially seemd to work, the "leak" into RAm continued, althoug much slower in some cases. I rolled back my video driver as suggested by some, but this had no effect neither did changing DPI settings.

    The side bar continued to be "massively" active. I disabled it , re-booted and then after about 20 minutes, opened the "system monitor II" gadget to see if RAM had already started to be "flooded" or if it only started then. By the way, I also noteds that the "digital dutch clock" gadget no-longer loaded: Just a blackened very vague image of the clock appeared. So, IMHO, something had ben installed with IE9 RC that interfered with/or was being intefered with by the side bar/certain gadgets.
    I then installed/uninstalled a number of different gadgets whilst watching Memory "Working Set" and "peak working set" in Task manager. It seemed, most gadgets that constantly monitored processes of the System were causing RAM to "fill up" slowly in some cases, much faster in others. Most clock gadgets steadily "filled" RAM and so did System Monitors, network monitors and drive monitor Gadgets.

    I executed the Gadget tests, with no other programs running at all, over a period of just over three hours. If there were no gadgets running, RAM load remained absolutely constant. The moment I ran a gadget that monitored any of the aspects mentioned above, RAM started to fill. The rate of filling depended on the nature of the Gadget and how frequently it sampled what it was monitoring. If I uninstalled the gadget, RAM did not "empty" but it did stop "filling up." Re-booting was required to reset everything.

    I then uninstalled IE9 RC and "voila" Everything now works as it should. To test, I installed a number of "system heavy" gadgets simultaneously(GPU Monitor, Network Montor II, Drives Monitor and System Monitor II as well as the "Digital Dutch Clock"). All work fine, there is absolutely no RAM usage increase. So, I must assume IE9 RC was the culprit.
    I am also forced to assume that Windows 7 Service Pack 1 is NOT going to solve this issue as I am sure the IE9 it will include will be the same as the RC version (I am running 64-bit Windows 7 Professional Plus).
    Last edited by petesmst; 2011-02-20 at 07:56. Reason: Trying to get the link to work correctly (it sometimes fails???)
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Windows 7 SP-1 hasbeen released and does not contain IE9. IE9 will be released later (probably in March).

    It appears you've found a bug in IE9 RC. Hopefully, it will be resolved before release.

    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Thanks Joe. I hope so too!
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Be aware that it could be an issue that needs to be fixed by the gadget authors. Microsoft could have re-engineered a piece of IE9 that caused an incompatibility but also resolved a problem in IE. The gadget authors may have to adjust.

    If you have the opportunity to provide feedback on IE9 you should do it. Microsoft relies heavily on metrics to prioritize fixes. The more people who report an issue the more likely it will be reviewed in depth.

    Joe

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Thanks Joe. I have reported to Microsoft and also posted on the technet forum. One of the gadgets had a support link and they came back to me very indignantly and stated the problem is not theirs, but rests with Microsoft.....
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    "It can't possibly be my problem" - Well, that is a typical developer reaction. You might ask them if they've been in touch with Microsoft.

    It appears you've done all you can do.

    Joe

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    No one ever wants to take credit for a problem. The OS and browser are constantly changing. Unfortunately in making apps more secure, there are at times untoward effects on other apps. Gadgets after all are just other apps.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •