Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts

    Thumbs up Windows 7 SP1, All You Need To Know, And Do

    You can read the whole story here;http://www.ghacks.net/2011/02/20/win...o-know-and-do/
    IMHO I would wait for @ least 3 months before I would install such a heavy update.
    Last edited by chowur; 2011-02-20 at 19:20. Reason: opinion
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    ...And in the mean time, make a system imaged backup in the unforseen event the installation goes sideways.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Shame on you - do you not have faith in Microsoft's updates? !
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    SP1 has been running without problems for several days. Right along side IE 9 RC. Not a single glitch. (I did make a complete Image, before and after the install, pretty cheap insurance in my book. I love Images! How did I ever get along without them before discovering these wonderful apps?)
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Also, no problems so far on several systems @home & @work both 32-bit & 64-bit.

    Joe

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I was able to get the SP1 file from Windows Seven Forum. I actually downloaded the 64 Bit version from Content Delivery Network. Worked very well. I believe the update will be pushed through Microsoft Update om 2/22. The download servers may be overloaded so you could grab a copy as I did.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    I don't care how reputable a download site is, I'm reluctant to download something as important as a service pack from a third party.

    Joe

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had three failed attempts before I finally had a successful update. And I was using the built-in update process. Not a very good "showing" for MS and their updating system, in my opinion anyway. I never had that much trouble with the service pack updates for XP. Oh well, 7 (and MS) is still working out the "kinks".

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Mosy likely part of the failed attempts were the loading on the servers causing problems. Whenever a large update is anticipated, the servers become overloaded in a hurry.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts

    My 2¢.

    One machine done, SP1. No problem at all.

    Two machines to go ! Jean.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Both laptops done. Eventually will do desktop, but this is only a back up now, very seldom used. SP1 working well with both laptops, one Win 7 HP and one Win 7 Ultimate, both 64 Bit.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    See Windows 7 SP1 Disk Cleanup Tool - Windows 7 Forums for two methods to reclaim disk space after SP-1.

    NOTE: Microsoft recommends this only after running with SP-1 installed for a few weeks.

    Joe

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Loungers may be interested to learn that it does NOT install IE9.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    That is correct IE 9 RC is a totally separate upgrade. Once IE 9 RTM is available I would assume it will be made available on Windows Update, but will still be a separate download.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    I see that notice of the SP1 update has come through on my machine, but it shows 73.6 to 892 MB. Holy Toledo Batman..... are there options in the download as to how much you get/need, and is there any option with MS to obtain it on CD like they did for one of the earlier Windows versions... might have been 98.

    I know Woody is saying we don't need it right away if we have all the updates installed..... I can take our laptops to my office and download there with the unlimited connection, but no way I can download 892 mb here on the desktop, with Hughes.net.

    BJ

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •