Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    iNET Interactive
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 24 Posts

    What you need to know about Windows 7 SP1




    TOP STORY

    What you need to know about Windows 7 SP1


    By Woody Leonhard

    With Windows 7 Service Pack 1 generally available, Win7 users need to know what SP1 brings — and doesn't bring — to the game.

    In short, this service pack adds surprisingly little to Windows 7. You'll want to install it — eventually.

    The full text of this column is posted at WindowsSecrets.com/2011/02/24/01 (opens in a new window/tab).

    Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.
    Last edited by Tracey Capen; 2011-02-23 at 19:49.

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Woody - you said that the SP1 update brings, inter alia, "An HDMI patch: I have no idea why MS emphasizes this as one of the noteworthy changes in Win7 SP1. It's a bug fix to keep HDMI working when a PC is rebooted."
    I have a Dell HD monitor attached to my laptop via an HDMI cable (supplied by Dell) and also use the monitor to provide audio so that it plays through a subwoofer and stereo speakers. I have a headphone with mic set plugged into the laptop for use with Skype. All works exceptionally well except that whenever I put the laptop to sleep at night, the audio link is lost on wake up (I have a thread in this regard in the Lounge) and I need to physically unplug the HDMI cable, wait a second, then plug it in again and voila! All is restored. There is no issue with the vision, only the audio, which reports the NVIDIA HDMI Output device as disconnected!
    Just thought I'd let you know and say that I hope this SP1 fixes the problem, though I am not holding my breath as the problem may lie with the NVIDIA Card..

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    WILL IT SLIPSTREAM/DOES IT NEED TO?

    is the biggest question I have - will the person's repair tools on their computer's recovery partition or the installation DVD still work after upgrading?

    I am amazed that Microsoft hasn't had to face legal action somewhere from someone who can rightfully claim that the Service Pack they installed on XP or Vista caused their Installation Disc or Recovery Partition to be useless except for a clean reinstall. I know of several persons who have lost data (some of which I recovered) because of trying to repair their upgraded system. And the fact that Microsoft has made it exceptionally difficult to upgrade/slipstream Vista seems to increase their liability in my estimation.

    But if Service Pack 1 is as minor as you suggest, perhaps that is not a problem in this case.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Hi, Woody,

    Thank you for all your work on behalf of us--Windows and Word users.

    One thing I did not see in your writeup was the fact that the monitor ICC profile for colour calibration is often reset upon bootup and other events in Windows 7. It is frustrating to watch the monitor in my Win7 laptop show the correct colour and then at the end of the boot cycle have it flip to bluish default. I have placed a shortcut icon on my desktop that takes me to the screen so I can unclick and reclick the profile. This is slowing me down from buying a fancy Win7 PC for my photo work. I had been thinking of one of the new Sandy Bridge processors. Anyway...this seems to work well in XP and broke in 7.

    Cheers,

    Richard
    Aurora, ON Canada

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KevinChambers View Post
    WILL IT SLIPSTREAM/DOES IT NEED TO?

    is the biggest question I have - will the person's repair tools on their computer's recovery partition or the installation DVD still work after upgrading?
    Currently, there is no mechanism to slipstream SP-1. I suspect that the tools in the recovery partition will have the same sort of version issues that occurred with Vista.

    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problem with Win 7 SP1

    If any of you are using an anonymous proxy by the name of "Anonymizer," do not install SP1. The company is working on the problem, according to their support page, but here is no indication when, if ever, they'll find a solution.

    Once I uninstalled the service pack, Anonymizer once again worked as expected.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    From what I have seen, Microsoft rather atypically undersold SP1....

    I, for one, have noticed rather snappier performance as well as a SIGNIFICANT REDUCTION in the amount of memory it consumes at any given time. Noted issues above not withstanding, (and the rather frightening installation procedure of the Server 2008 R2 version also not withstanding), so far, albeit this is a very early stage, I must say I highly recommend this update--and commend Microsoft for a job well done!

    A./ (I am actually a hard-core Linux geek at heart, by the way....)

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KevinChambers View Post
    WILL IT SLIPSTREAM/DOES IT NEED TO?

    is the biggest question I have - will the person's repair tools on their computer's recovery partition or the installation DVD still work after upgrading?

    I am amazed that Microsoft hasn't had to face legal action somewhere from someone who can rightfully claim that the Service Pack they installed on XP or Vista caused their Installation Disc or Recovery Partition to be useless except for a clean reinstall. I know of several persons who have lost data (some of which I recovered) because of trying to repair their upgraded system. And the fact that Microsoft has made it exceptionally difficult to upgrade/slipstream Vista seems to increase their liability in my estimation.

    But if Service Pack 1 is as minor as you suggest, perhaps that is not a problem in this case.
    Why bother to slipstream when you can Image and get everything into one file, then reimage when you make changes. In my opinion Imaging makes reinstalling original OS, slipstreamed or not, obsolete. Far discussions on Imaging check out the many threads in the Security And Backup forum.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by VirtualEntity View Post
    From what I have seen, Microsoft rather atypically undersold SP1....
    I installed SP1 on a system that was completely up-to-date with patches.

    I have a program From Escort Radar that updates the radar unit via USB. This program no longer runs (at all). Changes to compatibility mode do nothing to make it work.

    It appears from the error logs that it is failing because of a .NET 2.0 failure. I sent a message to the Escort support people and their reply "our detector tools program is not compatible with SP1".

    Now, I understand that the Radar Tools program is a fairly trivial application. But, I'm more concerned about the implications. If SP1 is just a compilation of patches, then why would this happen? The system was fully patched before SP1 and the Radar program worked fine. Has MS done something else that is not clear and may affect other applications???

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Ted, slipstreaming SP1 allows you to update multiple computers. Imaging will only work on the source computer.

    Jerry

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Ted, slipstreaming SP1 allows you to update multiple computers. Imaging will only work on the source computer.

    Jerry
    I will agree that in an environ that multiple PC's have to be updated slipstreaming has it's place. Most 3rd party Imaging apps also allow cloning. This allows additional PC's to be set up identically, including all installed apps, etc. If you set the original PC up with all apps installed then clone it to all other PC's, wouldn't this work and save time. After all time is money in a corp. setting.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Slipstreaming is valuable if you perceive the need to build a new pc or rebuild an old one not to update multiple PCs. It can save whatever time it takes to apply the service pack.

    Joe

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I noticed you referenced the third-party software LogMeIn in this article. I've been trying to determine if an Apple iPad could allow me to read not only the books, etc., that are advertised all over the place, but also let me read email, pdf files, doc files, etc. etc. on my PCs. They seem to offer LogMeIn as the capability to do that - do you have any experience with that, or anything you can comment on in this regard. I've been watching different readers for some time and my aging eyes finally see, in the iPad, a screen capable of being readable enough (because of its larger size and its capability to enlarge what's being read). I feel I could save a lot of paper if I had this capability because I feel, even now, it's just impossible to always sit at a PC screen to read everything I want to read. I also wonder if the iPad can be used both on my home and office wireless network, as well as an outside network to use the LogMeIn with (i.e. from a client location, research center, etc.). I'd appreciate any thoughts you (or anyone) might have on this. My eyesight is my biggest problem in this area - I've never been able to use cell phones with all the tiny text.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Cloning would only work for PCs with the same hardware including motherboard chipsets.

    Jerry

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger Woody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 645 Times in 4 Posts
    @BGCP -

    SP1 probably will fix the problem, and you might want to go ahead and install it. What surprised me is that MS singled out this (very minor!) driver patch as being one of the significant improvements in SP1. They're really scraping the bottom of the barrel.
    Woody

    For Dummies book author, Senior Contributing Editor for InfoWorld, and long-suffering Windows victim. Check out the latest at AskWoody.com.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •