Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Won't sleep

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Won't sleep

    I'm stumped and need help please. I built a new PC and installed 64-bit Win7.

    I've checked the sleep settings, but the PC won't go into sleep mode after the set time. Nor will the screen saver come on. It seems like it doesn't know the elapsed time.

    I checked the BIOS settings, and they seem okay. I can press "Sleep" manually from the start button and that works. It just doesn't sleep by itself.

    I would appreciate any suggestions, thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,529
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 500 Times in 460 Posts
    There are potentially many things in your system from hardware devices to software/ operating system configurations that may interfere with the computer's sleep mode.
    A good, but generalized article over at eHow...


    Why Won't a Computer Go Into Sleep Mode Automatically?
    Read more: Why Won't a Computer Go Into Sleep Mode Automatically? | eHow.com

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    okbob (2011-02-25)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for the tip, I'll review that.
    Happy Friday to you, OkBob

  5. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,999
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 574 Times in 520 Posts
    Check your Bois S1 S3 settings. Its under ACPI Suspend Settings in mine. Change it to S1 if its set to S3.

    Jerry

  6. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    fayetteville, nc
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Some other things to check are:
    iTunes (Edit-Preferences-Devices uncheck everything)
    Media Player- needs to be stopped
    Bit torrent apps- the connection prevents it

    You could also give this a try: http://www.computerperformance.co.uk...cfg-energy.htm. Or just Google powercfg.
    Last edited by butchcoats; 2011-02-25 at 16:14.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •