Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    167
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Linked table not pulling all fields

    I have a linked table to an excel file. the link will not pull all fields. i've tried several times to reestablish the link, but still it will not pull the a field called "short description" with a length of no longer 120 characters. can you help me figure out what i'm doing wrong!!!!!
    thanks
    christine

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Add a new column in Excel, before the problem one. Call it something short and simple with no spaces. Add some sample test data. See if you can pull that in as a new field in your database. If it imports, copy the contents of the problem column into the working column. Does it still work? This may give a clue as to the problem.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    167
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I performed the test you suggested. everything work. what does this tell us?
    thanks
    christine

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Do you just not see that field at all? or do you see the field but NOT the data in it?
    Are there any error message?
    Is there anything unusual about the data in the missing field?
    Last edited by johnhutchison; 2011-02-26 at 16:45.
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    So you can import the data you want in the new field. Try renaming the old column in Excel to something else, and rename the new column to what it should be. Try the import again. Hopefully it will work okay.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    167
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    after inserting and deleting the field in front of the short desc field (which happens to be the last field in the sheet), i was able to link properly to the field. i had our staff run the exported data which populates the table (they have to do this daily) today and we're back to square one. the table doesn't recognize the field again. i dont' want to have to insert another manual step unless i absoultely have to.

    i just don't understand why it won't recognize the last column of data automatically.


    thanks to all who are attempting to help!
    thanks
    christine

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Can you post the Excel spreadsheet here without any sensitive data, so we can try it ourselves.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger tgw7078's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA., USA
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cchambers@work View Post
    after inserting and deleting the field in front of the short desc field (which happens to be the last field in the sheet), i was able to link properly to the field. i had our staff run the exported data which populates the table (they have to do this daily) today and we're back to square one. the table doesn't recognize the field again. i dont' want to have to insert another manual step unless i absoultely have to.

    i just don't understand why it won't recognize the last column of data automatically.
    Hi -
    You haven't mentioned which product and version that you are using...If you are using Microsoft Access, the problem might be related to your choice of field name. Note that these three words are considered Reserved words:

    Short
    Description
    Desc

    So, a combination of reserved words that includes a space character, such as "short description" or "short desc" might be enough to confuse the situation, whereas I would expect that "ShortDescription" or "ShortDesc" should be okay. For a complete list of reserved words in Microsoft Access, see Access MVP Allen Browne's listing:

    Problem Names and Reserved Words in Access
    http://www.allenbrowne.com/AppIssueBadWord.html


    Tom Wickerath
    Microsoft Access MVP
    Last edited by tgw7078; 2011-03-05 at 05:08. Reason: Misspelled Allen's first name

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to tgw7078 For This Useful Post:

    DavidPierson (2011-03-24)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •