Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brampton, Onyatio, Canada
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Restore not working in Windows 7

    I had clean installed Windows 7, 64 bit on a new HD. I just noticed that the Sysrem Restore is greyed out but File Restore is OK. How can I activate Sysrem Restore. Please help.

    Regards
    Percy

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Temple, Texas, USA
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I could be wrong, but I think "system restore" means restore the whole drive from a "system image", whereas "file restore" means restore something from normal "file backups". Have you ever created a "system image" via Win7? If you have, it would be in a directory named "WindowsImageBackup".

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Check Control Panel, System, System Protection. See if System Restore is turned on here. Some of us that create Up To Date Images leave System Restore turned off as seen in my system. This may be set off on your system:

    SystemRestore.jpg
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    CWS, System Restore has nothing to do with drive imaging. See What is System Restore for a detailed description.

    To turn System Restore back on, see Turn System Restore on .

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts

    Angry No restore ???

    Good morning Jerry.

    You just previous post had me scratching my dome. As I just recently updated my machines to SP1, I got curious and searched for Restore. Nothing ! Yeark !

    I used your link to find it and sure enough it was de-activated, not a fine move from MS. I also found that the wording in their instructions is different from what they say in the speel that your link provided. After turning it ON, it kept saying that there was a file-name error and would not turn on. I then "created" a point and from that moment on, all was cricket. Knowing one's way around "System" is a great advantage in this regard.

    Did you find the same conditions in your Win-Se7en ? Jean.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello Ted.

    >>>Some of us that create Up To Date Images leave System Restore turned off as seen in my system. This may be set off on your system:


    Agreed ! I like to have Points even if I clone my machines repeatedly/monthly. To have a no muss no fuss quick way to repair a just happened baddy.
    I see that indeed your Restore is OFF in the above .jpg. Did you turn it OFF or was it defaulted by SP1. Strange way to help users if this is an SP1 setting. I had trouble setting mine to ON, I first had to do a Restore before I could turn it ON. ( ??? )

    A nice day to you. JP.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    JP
    I chose to turn it off quite some time ago as I have Images that I update regularly. I feel the Images will do a better job that System Restore, and just as quickly in most cases so why waste the space for System Restore. just my opinion. For those that do not Image (Clone) they would be nuts to turn System Restore off.

    Have a great day. Ted
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    All I can say, Ted, is that great minds always think alike. ;-)

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Temple, Texas, USA
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    CWS, System Restore has nothing to do with drive imaging. See What is System Restore for a detailed description.

    To turn System Restore back on, see Turn System Restore on .
    Thanks for the correction, jwitalka. However, I think your second link is for Vista. The Win7 method is at:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...tore-on-or-off

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •