Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Temple, Texas, USA
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    MSE scheduled scan didn't run

    I'm on Win7 Home Premium. Last week my PC was sleeping when the scan was scheduled, so it didn't, and as I later learned shouldn't, run. So, I did a 'scan now' and then changed it to Tuesday at 3pm. I awoke my PC at 2:30, or so, today, and was using it until about 3:20. Then, I left it alone for a while, just moving the cursor now and then, to keep it awake. Still, at 3:50pm, the scan had not run. So, I hit update to force it to get the latest definition file. That ran OK. Still, at 4:05, no scan has run. I double checked all settings, and don't see why not. I have it set to not use more than 50% of resources, but don't see that as a reason for not running. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi cws, as long as your program is up to date I would'nt worry about it doing a scan on a schedule. I use Avira on my Laptop & Avast 6 on my Desktop, after installing, both did a full scan, found nothing and have not scanned since.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Temple, Texas, USA
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi cws, as long as your program is up to date I would'nt worry about it doing a scan on a schedule. I use Avira on my Laptop & Avast 6 on my Desktop, after installing, both did a full scan, found nothing and have not scanned since.
    Well, I've done manual scans, and am not particularly worried that it will find something. It's more that I wonder if there's a bug in MSE, causing it to miss scheduled scans. If so, maybe I should report it to them. I changed the scheduled scan to 8pm that evening, and it ran at 7:40 or so, as it should. I see no difference in the two settings - I was using the PC at both times. Probably just one of those glitches never to be explained...like my $%#^ing cell phone alarm that has failed to sound, twice in the last couple of months. Gremlins inside, I reckon! ;-)

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    I tried MSE for a week or so and found it as usefull as an ashtray on a motor cycle. Of the 2 I'm using, Avast updates auto. every 4 hours (desktop) which runs 24/7. Avira at midnight & midday, plus it runs if a scheduled update is missed, handy being on my Laptop.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Temple, Texas, USA
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I had Norton last year, but didn't want to pay for it, so I got MSE. I set up a task to go get the updates every 6 hours. I think they put out only about 2 or 3 a day. MSE doesn't have a lot of features - they're probably saving those for the $$$ version, after they get us hooked. So far, I have no real complaints.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cws View Post
    I had Norton last year, but didn't want to pay for it, so I got MSE. I set up a task to go get the updates every 6 hours. I think they put out only about 2 or 3 a day. MSE doesn't have a lot of features - they're probably saving those for the $$$ version, after they get us hooked. So far, I have no real complaints.
    MSE is designed to be a simple to install, simple to use product that people who are inexperienced or uncomfotable with a/v software can install and forget about. I doubt you'll see much added to it. Microsoft has to walk a fine line there.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •