Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    kb2502285 after sp1?

    I installed sp1 successfully on two systems, a 32-bit and a 64-bit. Now I just read Susan Bradley's column in the latest Windows Secrets, and she says to install 2502285 before sp1, which I didn't do. The MS info article on 2502285 says you have to uninstall sp1 before installing this patch. So should I just forget about it, since everything is running well, or uninstall sp1, install 2502285, then reinstall sp1? The patch is still offered in Windows Update.

    Fafner

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    In looking at the KB support info my interpretation is you only have to uninstall SP1 and install this update, then reinstall SP1 if you get the referenced error:

    In this scenario, you may receive a Stop error message that resembles the
    following:


    STOP: 0x0000007F (0x0000008, parameter2,
    parameter3, parameter4)

    UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP

    If you are not getting this error, you should be ok.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tedshemyers View Post
    In looking at the [URL=http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=2502285]
    If you are not getting this error, you should be ok.
    Thanks for your reply.

    Just to clarify -- do you mean I should be ok if I install the patch on top of sp1, or I should be ok if I skip the patch?


    Fafner

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fafner View Post
    Thanks for your reply.

    Just to clarify -- do you mean I should be ok if I install the patch on top of sp1, or I should be ok if I skip the patch?
    Skip the patch if you are not experiencing the error.

    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks, Joe.

    Fafner

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fafner View Post
    Thanks for your reply.

    Just to clarify -- do you mean I should be ok if I install the patch on top of sp1, or I should be ok if I skip the patch?


    Fafner
    No I would skip the patch at this point since you are not getting this error.

    Note:
    Oh sorry I did not see Joe had already answered your question.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bruges, Belgium
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Susan writes: You should also ensure that you've installed KB 2502285 (info page), which fixes a potential BSOD after applying SP1. (Without the patch, antivirus apps can exhaust the space in the Windows kernel, resulting in the infamous Blue Screen of Death.)

    So there are two possibilities: either everything works fine after installing SP1, in which case no further action is needed (not even advised) OR you get a BSOD which can be fixed by applying the said fix. But how can you apply a fix if you have got a BSOD?

    Shouldn't it be wise to always install the fix, before installing SP1? Or am I naive?

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    And just an additional note on this patch... It is for 32bit Windows 7 only.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to voodoochile For This Useful Post:

    rvWoody (2011-03-07)

  10. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bruges, Belgium
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoochile View Post
    It is for 32bit Windows 7 only.
    Where did you get that information? The KB page lists under Prerequisites "To apply this update, you must be running Windows7" without any further qualification. Although it's true that the paragraph "Windows 7 file information notes" only talks about "supported x86 based versions of Windows7" Is that sufficient to conclude it's 32-bit only?

    I wish MS were more precise in their language. Right now it's guess work all over the place.

  11. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I think it is correct that the patch is for 32-bit only. I also administer some 64-bit machines, and the patch has not shown up in Windows Update for any of them.

    Fafner

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger Vincenzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    653
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    x86 refers to 32 bit architecture. It is a throwback to the old Intel processors - 8086, 386, etc. 64 bit is referred to as x64.

  13. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    If you try to install this update on a 64bit Windows system, you will receive the following error message:

    "The update is not applicable to your computer"

    Learned the hard way..

  14. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I thought I was being very careful by reviewing the latest Windows Secrets. So, I was getting ready to install it. I'm glad I Googled the KB2502285 before I downloaded and installed. Whoever figured out it wasn't for 64bit, my hat's off to you.

  15. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bruges, Belgium
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PseudoGeek View Post
    I thought I was being very careful by reviewing the latest Windows Secrets. So, I was getting ready to install it. I'm glad I Googled the KB2502285 before I downloaded and installed. Whoever figured out it wasn't for 64bit, my hat's off to you.
    Same for me - that's why I thanked voodoochile

  16. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hey guys, anyone knows an equivalent to KB2502285 but for win7 x64 ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •