3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Question Disable sound cards remotely

Hi everyone. Is there a way to disable a sound card remotely? I tried doing it through Computer Management and I couldn't because it doesn't allow disabling things remotely (it told me it was in read-only mode because I was accessing a remote machine). I have a few Windows XP SP3 PC's that need their sound cards disabled. They're all on a Windows domain network and I am a domain admin so I'm not worried about permissions. Let me know what you think.

Thanks
    Try going through device manager:
    devmgmt.msc
    You can also disable it's asociated service via:
    services.msc

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Why not just ask your users to use headphones if the speakers are annoying others.

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    This post seems to have a solution. Let us know if it works for you.

cheers, Paul

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    CLiNT, I don't think that's going to work remotely. Can you explain how you'd recommend I use device manager remotely to accomplish this?

DavidPierson, headphones aren't going to work, either. These PC's and employee's are at a ticket stand where patrons come in and walk up to the stands and purchase tickets. The employee's aren't allowed to wear headphones in this environment.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by telecomguy9 View Post
    CLiNT, I don't think that's going to work remotely. Can you explain how you'd recommend I use device manager remotely to accomplish this?

DavidPierson, headphones aren't going to work, either. These PC's and employee's are at a ticket stand where patrons come in and walk up to the stands and purchase tickets. The employee's aren't allowed to wear headphones in this environment.
    I was under the asumption that you are using some form of remote client, other that just network access??
    Otherwise your looking at changing network access temporarily from read only to read+write.