Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

Regedit problems

I've been a computer admin for 20yrs. I've been using win7 for over a year. I've been trying to delete magic jack entries in the registry but am unable to. Permision denied. I've tried taking ownership of the reg entries - permision denied. I've had this prob with other reg entries. And, yes, I'm logged in the system admin.
    What's going on with the reg that I cannot delete entries?

Thanks
    When you bring up regedit (I'm assuming you're typing it into the search bar and then clicking on the executable when it appears up top), right-click and select "Run as administrator". I know you're logged in as a member of the Administrators Group, but try it, and see if you can now take ownership of the registry keys.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

"The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    I'll second bbearen's recommendation. Remember that from Vista & Server 2008 forward just because you are a member of the local Administrator Group does not mean you have the same admin capabilities as you would've seen in XP or Server 2003. Particularly with "system" type programs "Run as Administrator" is always a good option.

Joe

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Didn't work. I do not like the fact that I cannot delete registry entries.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Can you take ownership of any registry entries?

Can you take ownership of any files?

Joe

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Yes, some entries & files, but not the ones I want access to.