Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cannot Change Time and Date

    Need to change my time because of DST, bgut it says I do not have the proper privilege level to change it.......Have no idea what that means, have never seen it before.....How can I change the time on my computer?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Are you a "Limited" user? If yes, switch to an "Administrator" user.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    Log on as an administrator,here's the link that will help;http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...inaccount.mspx
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    At boot, go into your bios and set the new time there.
    Windows will read that time and date on the next boot-up.
    (that's where windows gets its time and date anyway)

    Good Luck,
    the Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DrWho View Post
    At boot, go into your bios and set the new time there.
    Windows will read that time and date on the next boot-up.
    (that's where windows gets its time and date anyway)
    Initially - but it gets updated via whichever NNTP time server has been set in Internet Time in Control Panel -> Date and Time
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    I've never found that to work anyway, so I always just disable it.

    I do run one of the FREE Time Sync program that are available over the internet. (once in a while)

    good luck,
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    I"ve found the Windows Internet Time app to work well in every version of Windows I've run. I do change the default Time server from Microsoft's to one of the nist.gov sites though.

    Jerry

  8. #8
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    You might get success from using a set of NNTP time servers in your country. I use uk.pool.ntp.org for example!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •