Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WHS "backup failed, unable to create ..." error

    I just set up the WHS system, and it's all very cool, but I am unable to make my first big backup successfully. The error message I keep getting says "The backup failed because your computer was unable to create a volume snapshot. To resolve this problem, try running "chkdsk /f /r" on each of your hard drives and restart your computer.

    Imagine my surprise when this didn't work.

    Got any other suggestions?

    I DID buy your WHS for Dummies book for the Kindle, by the way (yes, I'm the one), but haven't found the answer there.

    I have another small question, but for neatness' sake, I'll post it separately.

    Thanks in advance. Love the book, love the site.

    Bob

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,385
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    On the PC to be backed up, make sure the VSS service is not disabled.

    Joe

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dear Joe,

    Thanks for the prompt reply. Sounds good, but how does one do that? Can't find VSS service anywhere.

    Bob

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Okay, I found out about something called VSSADMIN. From a CMD window, I typed "VSSADMIN LIST WRITERS." Here's what came up:

    Writer name: 'Microsoft Writer (Bootable State)'
    Writer Id: {f2436e37-09f5-41af-9b2a-4ca2435dbfd5}
    Writer Instance Id: {1a4f6679-e983-44a0-998c-537e60bac9cf}
    State: [1] Stable

    Writer name: 'MSDEWriter'
    Writer Id: {f8544ac1-0611-4fa5-b04b-f7ee00b03277}
    Writer Instance Id: {bcbf5740-dd8f-49b4-815f-e9d5fff214e2}
    State: [1] Stable

    Writer name: 'WMI Writer'
    Writer Id: {a6ad56c2-b509-4e6c-bb19-49d8f43532f0}
    Writer Instance Id: {e44a43d3-1fbe-424c-bca6-611f84e36379}
    State: [1] Stable

    Writer name: 'Microsoft Writer (Service State)'
    Writer Id: {e38c2e3c-d4fb-4f4d-9550-fcafda8aae9a}
    Writer Instance Id: {c28416c1-c72d-49e3-9337-9ee6d6992101}
    State: [1] Stable

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,385
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    To check the VSS service go to Start (Orb), right click "Computer" and select Manage. After "Computer Management" has loaded, expand the "Services and Applications" section. Click on "Services". Scroll down to Volume Shadow Copy. The startup type for VSS is normally "Manual" which means that it is started when a program that requires it calls for it.

    Also, what happens if you try "vssadmin create shadow /for=c:" (wihtout the quotation marks) from an elevated command prompt?

    Joe
    Last edited by JoeP517; 2011-03-14 at 20:08.

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe,

    Thanks, first of all, for trying to help.

    I went to VSS Services, and it did say "Manual," but just for the hell of it, to give it a boost, I clicked "Start" to get it going.

    No change. I've pared down the backup just to the C: drive just to try and get SOMETHING backed up, and figured I would add the additional drives one at a time once that was done. Still no luck.

    As for the other, my main computer is an XP Pro box, so I don't think it understood that command you suggested. Here's what happened:

    C:\>vssadmin create shadow /for=c:
    vssadmin 1.0 - Volume Shadow Copy Service administrative command-line tool
    (C) Copyright 2001 Microsoft Corp.

    Usage:

    vssadmin list shadows [/set={shadow copy set guid}]
    Lists all shadow copies in the system, grouped by shadow copy set Id.

    vssadmin list writers
    Lists all writers in the system

    vssadmin list providers
    Lists all currently installed shadow copy providers


    Bob

  8. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,385
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    Sorry, the "create" command is only for Windows Server. Have you tried "list shadows"?

    Joe

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dear Joe,

    I went into the VSSADMIN on the Windows Server box using the remote desktop, and it did say "successfully created shadow." I tried another drive letter, though, and it didn't like that.

    On my main XP Pro box, when I did "vssadmin list shadows", here's what came up:
    "No shadow copies present in the system."

    Now, I'm moving some stuff off of the two partitions that make up the one drive I'm trying to back up, just in case more room will help.

    Bob

  10. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,385
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    On the XP PC, have you disabled "System Restore"? Or have you severly limited the size used?

    Joe

  11. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't think so. How would I know? (Please forgive my ignorance!)

    Bob

  12. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It turns out I have not turned off System Restore on any of my drives, and the slider is all the way to the right.

    Sorry to be so much trouble.

    Bob

  13. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Making additional room on the partitions I'm trying to back up didn't help. Still got to 8% and then failed. My next brilliant idea is to delete all these failed backups and try again.

  14. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,385
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    If found that on XP, the volume shadow service is called "MS Software Shadow Copy Provider". You should make sure that is not disabled.

    Joe

  15. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry to be so frustrating, but I found "MS Software Shadow Copy Provider," and it said "Stopped." So I changed that to "Started." Same problem.

    Aaaargh!

  16. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dear Joe (or anyone else reading this),

    Some new information that might be helpful, I don't know.

    I went to Backup Details to see the Failure Details. Here's what it says:

    The computer failed to take a shapshot of the volume for backup.
    System.IO.FileNotFoundException: The system cannot find the file specified. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070002)
    at System.Runtime.InteropServicesMarshal.ThrowExcepti onForHRIn

    and then it seems to run out of space in the window, but I can't scroll down in it to see the rest of it, if there is any more. Does this make any sense to you?

    Gratefully (and frustratedly),

    Bob

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •