Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Netgera WGR614v10

    Have a desktop with win7 and broadband. Bought a refurb netgear router (no install cd). Have a laptop (compaq/presario) with XP-sp3. What 2 do so laptop works wireless? My handle is olderman70, but thats kinda a misnomre as I'm 72 and it's hard 2 teach an old dog new tricks...but would appreciate any would b teachers giving it a try..
    Last edited by olderman70; 2011-03-14 at 17:49.
    God, is good. Beer, is great. People, are crazy!!

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi olderman70+2, welcome to the lounge.
    Connect LT with a cable to your router, on the 'Attached Devices' tab click add. Now change SSID and enter a password for WPA+WPA2 PSK.
    You can get good passwords here use the middle one.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    See if the instructions here help. Your netgear router has a builtin install wizard.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi olderman70+2, welcome to the lounge.
    Connect LT with a cable to your router, on the 'Attached Devices' tab click add. Now change SSID and enter a password for WPA+WPA2 PSK.
    You can get good passwords here use the middle one.
    i, thought the purpose of a router was a "wireless" connection? Not running a cable.
    God, is good. Beer, is great. People, are crazy!!

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    will try...no modem but will plug incoming (broadband) cable directly to router then router to desk top and try info from web site...thnx Jerry
    God, is good. Beer, is great. People, are crazy!!

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by olderman70 View Post
    i, thought the purpose of a router was a "wireless" connection? Not running a cable.
    My method is the easiest I know of to get your router to recognize your Laptop, then all you need to do is click connect to your SSID, enter the password and let nature take over.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Roderunner, I think he needs to change the default Router login password, choose a name for hiss SSID, and setup WPA security first.
    The setup wizard should walk him through it.

    Jerry

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Roderunner, I think he needs to change the default Router login password, choose a name for hiss SSID, and setup WPA security first.
    The setup wizard should walk him through it.
    Jerry
    Hi Jerry, I was more intent on getting him connected securely first, using the simplest method for a wireless set up.
    My Netgear router has 'access control' and giving my passphrase to my friend to test, resulted in failing to connect, I'm glad to say.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    router

    ok, after much confusion -I stumbled on my wireless connection 4 the laptop and am up and running -thanks 4 the responses. now what do i do/how do i do security and password??????
    God, is good. Beer, is great. People, are crazy!!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Go to Control Panel > Network Connections > Wireless Connection 4. Click on View Wireless Networks. If One of them shows up as connected and security-enabled Wireless network (wpa or wpa2). You are good to go. The laptop should automatically connect each time you boot. Otherwise, let us know what it shows.

    Jerry

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by olderman70 View Post
    ok, after much confusion -I stumbled on my wireless connection 4 the laptop and am up and running -thanks 4 the responses. now what do i do/how do i do security and password??????
    Hi olderman70+2, I found this page and suggest you bookmark it. Netgear WGR614v10.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    went to --shows"wireless network connection 2, connected-broadcom 802.1.1 b/g wlan... and thats all folks...nothing about wpa/wpa2 or security

    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Go to Control Panel > Network Connections > Wireless Connection 4. Click on View Wireless Networks. If One of them shows up as connected and security-enabled Wireless network (wpa or wpa2). You are good to go. The laptop should automatically connect each time you boot. Otherwise, let us know what it shows.

    Jerry
    God, is good. Beer, is great. People, are crazy!!

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    I don't think you're in the right spot. Right click on Wireless Network connection 2 and select View Available Wireless Networks. You should see the SSID (wireless network name) and the security settings.

    Jerry

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    did it...shows "netgear unsecured wireless" (mine) and 'virgin mobile mifi 681 secure wpa" which i assume is a neighbor with cell phone....no security on mine
    God, is good. Beer, is great. People, are crazy!!

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    OK. To setup a secure wireless connection:
    1. Log in to the Router by going to http://www.routerlogin.net or http://www.routerlogin.com and entering the default user name admin and default password password. If the login fails, check any documentation you received with the router.
    2. Click on Wireless setting on the left hand side of the screen
    3. Check the broadcast SSID box if not already checked.
    4. In the box next to Name (SSID), fill in any name you want to uniquely identify this connection.
    5. Under Security options, check the WPA or WPA2 option lowest in the list.
    6. In the passphrasebox, type a 8 to 63 character passphrase and write it down. You will need this to connect wirelessly.
    7. Click Apply.
    8. Under Maintenance on the left hand side, I recommend clicking on set password to change you router login password from the default of password.
    9. Type old and new passwords in the boxes provided. Write down your new login password and hit apply.

    Go back to your laptop and right click on view available connections.
    Click on the one that has the name you just created in the router.
    Click on connect and you should be asked for a password.
    Type the passphrase you set and hit ok or connect and you should be good to go.
    XP should remember both the connection name and passphrase and connect automatically fro now on.

    Jerry

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •