Lounger
    Thanks

Wildcards & Replace?

I'm currently using Word 2000 SR1-A, but my question goes back to my first experiences with Word 95.

I found the wildcard search early on. I have a lot of experience in the DOS world, and was using some ports of Unix text editors. They included "regex-search-and-replace" - in other words, I could have wildcards in my search string, and there was a way to plug the matched text into my replace string. For example, I could turn "1234ABCD" into "Section: 1234 Subsection: ABCD".

Anyone know of a way to do this in Word? It's a really neat feature if you're trying to turn various forms of raw data into more readable text. I've had other times I've wanted it, but I don't remember exactly what they were off-hand.

susabelle

Re: Wildcards & Replace?

You should be able to do something like this using the find and replace feature under edit. I'm assuming you tried it and it didn't work? Can you post an example of your document so we could play with it?

-Susabelle

Lounger
    Thanks

I don't have one handy - but I can reconstruct one type moderately easily:

Turn:
    1234abcd
    3456lkjh
    7890oiuj
    7394next

into:
    Cycle: 1234 Subnet: abcd
    Cycle: 3456 Subnet: lkjh
    Cycle: 7890 Subnet: oiuj
    Cycle: 7394 Subnet: next

using only search and replace.

I can FIND the eight character string - that's not a problem. But how do I break it up? (Yes I know I could pop it into Excel and use the fixed columns breakdown - but there are times when I'm not dealing with fixed columns. This is merely the easiest example I can produce off the top of my head.)

As an overkill example, I could do this fairly easily in Epsilon, which was my DOS version of EMACS.

susabelle