Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts

    Slipstream Win XP Pro SP3

    Has anyone had recent success with Slipstreaming XP Pro SP3 from an OEM XP Pro SP2 CD to a new bootable XP Pro SP3 CD?

    I have tried ....
    Paul Thurrott's Slipstreaming Windows XP With Service Pack 3 (SP3).
    The links and prose in that article seem out of date.
    For example it asks to Downlaod ImgBurn and never tells how to use ImgBurn in the process.

    I'd like to create a CD with XP Pro SP3 for installing on an OEM licensed PC that has misplaced all Win XP install CD's. That PC has a dead Hard Drive that will be replaced.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks

    PS: Would also like to include drivers on the new CD
    Last edited by tfspry; 2011-03-19 at 23:34. Reason: PS: include drivers

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You can find a good guide here.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I used that site and downloaded the ImgBurn with the same apprehension as I guess you are experiencing, the result was good the Imburn prog is easy.
    Just remembered there is a good tutorial here http://www.imgburn.com/
    However be careful where you click there are many ads on the site.
    Last edited by E_OGRADY; 2011-03-21 at 06:56.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    I didn't see any date on this site.You can try this;http://www.howtohaven.com/system/sli...e-pack-3.shtml
    The best of luck to you.
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  5. #5
    Star Lounger jgstanley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
    I've had luck, but I used Nero Burning ROM to burn the CD.

    I had to use IsoBuster to get the boot image from the OEM CD, since this is not a standard Microsoft boot img (image). I also had to make sure that the setting for burning the CD were correct, since just making a bootable CD-ROM will not work for an XP Installation CD.

    A good tutorial for slipstreaming and using Nero Buring ROM to create the CD can be found at HelpWithWindows.com
    Last edited by jgstanley; 2011-03-25 at 12:33.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    My apologies for not responding sooner. I thank you all for your replies. I will be trying your suggestions on my next project.

    This project was for a friend's Dell Optiplex, she could not find any of her software install disks, the hard drive was dead. We installed another HD and used a Dell OEM XP Pro SP2 CD on her system and then installed a download of SP3 burned to a CD. Installed some Dell Optiplex drivers and all is good. We did have to get about 100 patches, fixes updates, etc. from Microsoft Updates. I think we would have had to get those 100 Microsoft Updates even if we could have got the Slipstream to work.

    I am a bit surprised that during the installations that we were never asked to input her MS XP Pro license key. So far, it seems to have passed Microsoft Genuine.

    My next project will be reinstalling Win XP Pro SP3 on a Dell laptop that currently has XP Pro SP3 installed, but system is real slow. Just want to refresh the laptop with a new install of all programs and hope it gets a tad bit faster.
    I have the Dell Win XP Pro SP 1a CD for that system. Will be an interesting reinstall/upgrade from an XP SP 1a disk.

    I do have full Macrium backup image of the laptop.

    Thanks again

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    The easiest method to slipstream Windows XP Service Packs in to a source has to be nLite. The software can do so much more but for the purpose of slipstreaming it is ridiculously easy.

    http://www.nliteos.com/nlite.html

    This guide below shows you how to use the application to do only that.

    http://www.lancelhoff.com/how-to-sli...to-windows-xp/

    Quote Originally Posted by tfspry View Post
    I am a bit surprised that during the installations that we were never asked to input her MS XP Pro license key. So far, it seems to have passed Microsoft Genuine.
    This is by design with most of the larger OEM manufacturers such as Dell and HP. They customise their media to essentially (without going into specifics) activate automatically if loaded on to a compatible machine e.g. Dell Media > Dell Machine = Activate where as Dell Media > HP Machine, failed activation.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    Posts
    114
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tfspry View Post
    I am a bit surprised that during the installations that we were never asked to input her MS XP Pro license key. So far, it seems to have passed Microsoft Genuine.
    Activation of an OEM image uses the OEM's license key, not the unique key on the label that was attached to the computer. The key on the computer, although a valid key, is unused, but is contractually required to be provided with the computer by Microsoft. The key printed on the computer should be different than the key recovered by any of the key recovery probrams (Belarc, etc.) that read the actual key used for activation.
    PJ in FL

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JDB1984 View Post
    The easiest method to slipstream Windows XP Service Packs in to a source has to be nLite. The software can do so much more but for the purpose of slipstreaming it is ridiculously easy.

    http://www.nliteos.com/nlite.html

    This guide below shows you how to use the application to do only that.

    http://www.lancelhoff.com/how-to-sli...to-windows-xp/



    This is by design with most of the larger OEM manufacturers such as Dell and HP. They customise their media to essentially (without going into specifics) activate automatically if loaded on to a compatible machine e.g. Dell Media > Dell Machine = Activate where as Dell Media > HP Machine, failed activation.
    Thanks, I'll try making the Slipstream CD with your nLite instructions.

    Quote Originally Posted by pjustice57 View Post
    Activation of an OEM image uses the OEM's license key, not the unique key on the label that was attached to the computer. The key on the computer, although a valid key, is unused, but is contractually required to be provided with the computer by Microsoft. The key printed on the computer should be different than the key recovered by any of the key recovery probrams (Belarc, etc.) that read the actual key used for activation.
    If I read these posts correctly, I can make one CD from any Dell OEM disk(SP1, SP1a, SP2) and use the resulting Slipstream XP Pro SP3 disk on any Dell machine that has a Win XP Pro sticker attached to it. At any point do I need to go to Microsoft site and change the key to the key that is attached to the sticker on the computers?

    Thank you

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Theoretically, you can only install an OEM version of Windows on the PC where it was originally installed.

    Joe

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tfspry View Post
    If I read these posts correctly, I can make one CD from any Dell OEM disk(SP1, SP1a, SP2) and use the resulting Slipstream XP Pro SP3 disk on any Dell machine that has a Win XP Pro sticker attached to it. At any point do I need to go to Microsoft site and change the key to the key that is attached to the sticker on the computers?
    It depends on the way Dell have programmed their OEM media but in most cases I would say your installation will activate automatically when connected to the internet (because they have injected their own product key like jpjustice57 has referenced to) but worst case scenario would be you have to type in your Dell OEM product key from the COA sticker on the machine and activate that. In any case you will not have to go to the Microsoft site as you put it and change your product key as it will be all done locally on the Windows Activation screen.

    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post
    Theoretically, you can only install an OEM version of Windows on the PC where it was originally installed.
    I am not sure what you are getting at Joe? in the scenario tfspry has put forth he is using the media (after updating it via slipstreaming) on Dell machines which have their respective OEM COA on them.

    Large vendors such as HP/Dell/IBM all use the technique which pjustice57 has pointed out as it makes their image mastering process much simpler.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JDB1984 View Post
    I am not sure what you are getting at Joe? in the scenario tfspry has put forth he is using the media (after updating it via slipstreaming) on Dell machines which have their respective OEM COA on them.
    Theorectically, each large OEM (i.e Dell, HP, etc.) install CD/DVD is tied to the BIOS of a particular PC. You are not supposed to be able to install that OS on another PC.

    Joe

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post
    Theoretically
    I'm glad I live in reality it makes my job easier. I understand the metrics behind the activation processes reasonably well and to be honest they are beyond the scope of this thread so I'm going to leave it be. The OP knows what they need to at this stage to achieve their objective.

    The above is not a personal dig at what you are saying I am merely pointing out the theoretical vs. reality when it comes to this process in my experience.

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JDB1984 View Post
    I'm glad I live in reality it makes my job easier. I understand the metrics behind the activation processes reasonably well and to be honest they are beyond the scope of this thread so I'm going to leave it be. The OP knows what they need to at this stage to achieve their objective.

    The above is not a personal dig at what you are saying I am merely pointing out the theoretical vs. reality when it comes to this process in my experience.
    I'm not taking anything personally. It is not a matter of whether the PC has a valid COA. At least in the USA, OEM CD/DVDs are pre-activated. When you power up an OEM machine for the first time you never see any activation activity. That is why each OEM OS copy is tied to a particular machine.

    Joe

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    StoneyCreek, TN
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Be very careful with a dell disk like yours, slipstreamed or not. I was an HP ASP for about 6.5 years and had to do bios recovery on many HP computers where the customer put a Dell restore disk in an Hp and it wiped out much of the bios info such as model serial, build id, and so forth. Windows wouldn't load the dell disks and would no longer load the real HP restore disks until a special program from HP, only available to Authorized Service Providers, was run and all the data was manually typed back in, and flashed back into the bios. In other words, the wrong manufacturers disk may "brick" the computer until it is re-programmed by only a factory authorized tech. Most of the modern HP restore disks will only work on one specific model because the hardware drivers are pre-setup and there are no "extra" drivers, so HP has a system that the restore disk reads the bios info to see if the right disks are in the right machine. If not the install stops and an error message pops up.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •